Search our Archive


Limerick select 10 of All-Ireland winning team for Munster Ladies Football Championship

Limerick select 10 of All-Ireland winning team for Munster Ladies Football Championship

Limerick captain Cathy Mee lifts the All-Ireland trophy last September in Croke Park

LIMERICK have selected 10 of their 2018 All-Ireland Junior Ladies Football Championship winning team for Saturday's opening round of the 2019 championship.

Last September's Croke Park title win secured Limerick promotion and therefore on Saturday (5pm) in Thurles John Ryan's side play Tipperary in the Munster Intermediate Championship.

There are five changes from the All-Ireland winning team - goalkeeper Martina Giltenane, defenders Sarah O'Sullivan and Aine McGrath not in the matchday panel of 29 for this weekend.

The other two missing from the starting team are Roisin Ambrose and Rebecca Delee - both are among the substitutes.

Along with Niamh Ryan, Ambrose and Delee are the three dual players at the centre of this weekend's fixture clash with the Munster Senior Championship semi final with Cork. The absence of Ambrose and Delee from the football starting line-up could suggest they will be on camogie duty, with fellow dual player Niamh Ryan selected at centre back for the Ladies Football tie.

The newcomers from the All-Ireland winning team are Maire Lyons, Rebekah Daly, Jenni O'Malley, Orlaith O'Donoghue and Caroline Hickey, who was introduced in last September's final win over Louth.

LIMERICK: Maire Lyons (Mungret St Pauls); Rebekah Daly (Athea), Ava Hartigan (Knockainey), Jenni O'Malley (Mungret St Pauls); Kristine Reidy (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Niamh Ryan (St Ailbes), Cathy Mee (Ballylanders); Loretta Hanley (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Megan O'Shea (St Brigids); Cliodhna Ní Cheallaigh (Mungret St Pauls), Mairead Kavanagh (St Ailbes), Olivia Giltenane (Mungret St Pauls); Orlaith O'Donoghue (St Brigids), Catriona Davis (Monagea), Caroline Hickey (St Ailbes). Subs: Rebecca McGuinness (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Eimear Ryan (St Ailbes), Ciara Ryan (St Ailbes), Eimear Quinn (Mungret St Pauls), Rebecca Delee (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Roisin Ambrose (Old Mill), Kristy Carroll (Ballylanders), Siofra Keane (Ahane), Eimear Kirby (Knockainey), Kathleen Fitzgibbon (Oola), Maeve O'Halloran (Adare), Amy Ryan (Oola), Grainne Cronin (Galtee Gaels), Shelly Walsh (Galtee Gaels).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.