WATCH: Limerick girls inspire Munster U15s to victory over Connacht

Limerick girls inspire Munster U15s to victory over Connacht

The Munster U15 side which defeated Connacht 1-0 in the opening fixture at the FAI Schools Under 15 Girls’ Interprovincial Tournament in the AUL Complex on Friday evening

MUNSTER opened their FAI Schools U15 Girls’ Interprovincial Tournament with an exciting 1-0 victory over holders Connacht at the AUL Complex, Clonshaugh, Dublin on Friday afternoon.

Jenna Slattery, of Laurel Hill Secondary School in Limerick scored the only goal of the game on 24 minutes when calmly converting from the penalty spot  following a foul on the lively Heidi O’Sullivan (Regina Mundi College) inside the box.

Both teams played some inviting passages of play but the goals just weren’t coming as Munster edged the win and a valuable two points to get their campaign off to a flying start.

To cap an excellent opening day for the Limerick contingent involved in the Munster squad, Coláiste na Trócaire, Rathkeale player Nicole McNamara was awarded the Player of the Match accolade by Tournament Ambassador, Emily Whelan.

Limerick’s representation in the Munster U-15 squad also includes Libby Costello (Laurel Hill Secondary School), Aoife Cronin (Scoil Pól, Kilfinane), Jodie Griffin (Ardscoil Mhuire, Corbally), Jodie Keane (Crescent College Comprehensive), Nicole McNamara (Coláiste na Trócaire, Rathkeale) and Aine Walsh (Salesian Secondary College, Pallaskenry).

Munster’s management team for the tournament, which runs from this until Sunday, includes Eileen O'Brien, of Crescent College Comprehensive.

Munster will face Ulster in their second fixture of the interprovincial tournament at 1pm today, Saturday.

MUNSTER | Caoilinn Casey (Cashel Community School), Libby Costelloe & Jenna Slattery (Laurel Hill Secondary School)Aoife Cronin (Scoil Pól, Kilfinane), Orlaith Deasy (Sacred Heart SS, Bandon), Jodie Griffin (Ardscoil Mhuire, Corbally)Jodie Keane (Crescent College Comprehensive), Abbie Lenihan (St. Mary's SS, Newport),Eva Mangan (Carrigaline Community School), Sadbh McGoldrick (Mount Mercy College, Cork), Nicole McNamara (Coláiste na Trócaire, Rathkeale), Ellie O'Brien(Scoil Muire gan Smal, Blarney), Mia O'Connell (Coláiste Muire, Cobh), Emma O'Sullivan (Presentation SS, Thurles), Heidi O'Sullivan (Regina Mundi College, Cork),Hannah O'Brien (Ursuline SS, Thurles) Aine Walsh (Salesian Secondary College, Pallaskenry)

MANAGEMENT | Barry Ryan (Presentation SS, Thurles), Eileen O'Brien (Crescent College Comprehensive), Pat Barrett (GK Coach), Andy Russell (Coach)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.