Search our Archive


New-look panel and new captain confirmed for Limerick senior footballers

New-look panel and new captain confirmed for Limerick senior footballers

New Limerick senior football captain Donal O'Sullivan

LIMERICK have unveiled a 33-man panel for the 2018 Allianz Football League.

Manager Billy Lee confirmed the panel on Sunday night ahead of next weekend’s start to their Division Four campaign.

It’s a new-look and youthful Limerick panel comprised of players from 20 different clubs.

Limerick SFC winners Adare lead the way with four players.

There is also a new captain – Monaleen’s Donal O’Sullivan replacing Iain Corbett who will miss the league due to a tour of duty in Lebanon. The vice-captains are defenders Sean O’Dea and Paul White.

There are wholesale changes to the panel from 2017. Seven players that played championship last year are no longer involved for varying reasons, while another five that played league are also missing. On top of that another seven that played championship in 2016 are also absent for varying reasons. This Monday came confirmation of the retirement of Johnny McCarthy and Seanie Buckley

That’s 19 players with recent inter-county experience no longer involved.

LIMERICK: Shane Doherty, David Connolly, Davy Lyons and Robbie Bourke (all Adare), Jim Lison, Tommy Griffin and Colm McSweeney (all Gerald Griffins), Daniel Daly, David Ward and Eoin Joy (all Fr Caseys), Donal O'Sullivan and Shane Cusack (both Monaleen), Paul White and Mickey Morrissey (both Rathkeale), Tony McCarthy and Peter Nash (both Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Garett Noonan and Cillian Fahy (both Dromcollogher-Broadford), Darragh Treacy and Sean McSweeney (both St Kierans), Patrick Begley and Killian Ryan (both Mungret), James Brouder (Mountcollins), Sean O'Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), Edward Sheehy (Granagh-Ballingarry), Josh Ryan (Oola), Seamus O'Carroll (Castleknock, Dublin), Jamie Lee (Newcastle West), Padraig Scanlon (Glin), Padraig de Brun (Firies, Kerry), Danny Neville (Ballysteen), Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.