Goggin handed first Pro12 start for Munster

Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent



Goggin handed first Pro12 start for Munster

ACADEMY centre Dan Goggin has been handed his first competitive start for Munster in tomorrow’s Guinness pro12 opener with Scarlets at Parc y Scarlets, 3pm.

Twenty one-year-old Young Munster clubman Goggin has been named at outside centre for the clash in Wales. The former St Munchin’s College star has impressed in Munster’s pre-season games.

Limerick man Goggin will be partnered in the Munster midfield by Rory Scannell in Rassie Erasmus’ first Pro12 team selection.

Elsewhere, fit-again New Zealander Tyler Bleyendaal will start the game at out-half, making his first appearance in the Guinness Pro12 since last December. Bleyendaal is partnered at half-back by Duncan Williams. 

Erasmus makes just one change from the starting XV that defeated Worcester Warriors last Friday with Dave Foley coming into the second row. 

Returning internationals Dave Kilcoyne and Donnacha Ryan could see some game time this weekend after being named on a bench. Academy prop Brian Scott and second row Jean Kleyn included in a PRO12 matchday squad for the first time.

Meanwhile, Scarlets head coach Wayne Pivac has named an all-star cast, including 11 international players, in his matchday 23 for the championship opener.

The game will be televised live on Sky Sports.

MUNSTER: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Ronan O'Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Dave Foley, Billy Holland (Captain); Dave O'Callaghan, Tommy O'Donnell, Jack O'Donoghue. Replacements: Kevin O'Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Jean Kleyn, Donnacha Ryan, Tomás O'Leary, Ian Keatley, Cian Bohane.

SCARLETS: Liam Williams, DTH van der Merwe, Scott Williams, Hadleigh Parkes, Steff Evans, Rhys Patchell, Gareth Davies, Dylan Evans, Ken Owens (Capt), Werner Kruger; Jake Ball, Lewis Rawlins; Aaron Shingler, John Barclay, Josh Macleod. Replacements; Ryan Elias, Wyn Jones, Peter Edwards, David Bulbring, Tadhg Beirne, Jonathan Evans, Dan Jones, Jonathan Davies