Limerick community groups encouraged to Get Involved

Nick Rabbitts


Nick Rabbitts

Chairman of the Get Involved judges Duncan Stewart visited Broadford last year

Chairman of the Get Involved judges Duncan Stewart visited Broadford last year

LIMERICK community groups are being encouraged to take part in the latest Get Involved initiative, with winning projects in line to share a prize fund of €17,000.

Now in its fifth year and with over €38,000 put into 22 projects in local communities across the country, the latest Get Involved Community Initiative has been launched with the sponsorship of the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI) and the backing of the Local Ireland representative group of weekly newspapers.

This initiative aims to identify, promote and ultimately reward the best community initiatives undertaken by local groups throughout the country over the period between now and September 2018.

Last year, the Limerick Leader’s representative in the contest from West Limerick were joint winners of the title.

The Broadford-Ashford walking trails, which has upgraded a series of tourist trails and united the twin parishes shared a prize fund of €6,000 with a group from Co Cork.​

Once again sponsored by the Sustainability Energy Association of Ireland, projects can come from a variety of sectors including food production, nature, sustainability and waste resource efficiency.

To enter this year’s community initiative competition, go online to the official website, www. and submit your application by Friday February 23, 2018. Once your entry has been received you will be contacted - and then you are up and running!

All successful entries will receive support in identifying local expertise, sources of funding and, where possible and at the discretion of the organisers, some professional mentorship.

The competition judging panel will be chaired by broadcaster and environmentalist Duncan Stewart.

Judging will take place in September 2018 and the awards presentation will take place in October 2018.

See also for film clips of last year’s winning entries.