Limerick businesses triumph at Retail Awards

Success for Matthew Stephens Jewellers and Hook and Ladder

Nick Rabbitts


Nick Rabbitts


Limerick businesses triumph at Retail Awards

Matthew Stephens staff receive their award, below, Hook and Ladder

TWO Limerick businesses have triumphed in the annual Retail Excellence Ireland (REI) awards.

Matthew Stephens Jewellers, based in O’Connell Street, was named the jewellery store of the year at the prestigious ceremony.

And Hook and Ladder, an artisan cafe and cookery school, won the title of restaurant/coffee shop of the year.

The two businesses were honoured at the ceremony, which is considered the biggest event in the annual retail calendar.

Some 500 business leaders from across Ireland were present.

Matt Ryan, Matthew Stephens Jewellers, said: “This award is for our incredible team. We are so lucky and thankful to have such a fantastic team of amazing individuals, from sales professionals, goldsmiths, diamond specialists, back office and accounts personnel, buyers to part time fashion level staff.

"Without them Matthew Stephens would be nothing like it is today. Together, they have a passion and ambition to be the best and this ethos has been the foundation for Matthew Stephens phenomenal growth and our continued success.”

Meanwhile, Sarah Moloney, who runs Hook and Ladder – which also has satellite branches at Castletroy and Corbally – said: “It is absolutely fantastic to win this. It is such a prestigious award, and to be able to put our business on the map is great as well. It is wonderful to be at the forefront again this year, and win another award.”

Lyn Drumgoole, director of communications at Retail Excellence Ireland said: “Limerick has become a real centre for retail and we are delighted to award those who are at the fore of delivering superb service and retailing standards.

"All of the finalists and in particular the winners displayed the highest standard of service, customer engagement, display and levels of investment which made choosing this year’s winners particularly difficult.”

Hosted by Hector Ó hEochagáin, the awards took place at Galway's Radisson Blu Hotel.