THE number of Limerickmen who have fallen in battle and are laid to rest in the city is few. The only central resting place is the Kingâ€™s Island Cemetary, maintained by a resident caretaker Mr Alfred Sparling.
And not all the 37 soldiers who lie there died in battle. the approaching winter of 1918, after the end of the Great War, brought with it the â€œblack fluâ€ - described locally as some kind of pneumonia.
It occurred when British Army personnel were required , most likely by a shortage of accomodation in the four city barracks, to camp under canvas in the marshes of Kingâ€™s Island.
It must be remembered that, although the war had come to an brupt end, literally, with the Armistice - when the clatter of machine gun ended with the thunder of artillery at an agreed moment in time - a great deal of equipment had to be stored in Ireland, then the second of the two islands which made up the empireâ€™s heartland.
Many soldiers had not yet demobbed and the Troubles were gathering momentum at that time.
Subscribe or register today to discover more from DonegalLive.ie
Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.
Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.