22 Jan 2022

All-Ireland Junior B Hurling Series returns to Limerick GAA club Killeedy in New Year

All-Ireland Junior B Hurling Series returns to Limerick GAA club Killeedy in New Year

2021 Limerick JBHC winners Blackrock

AFTER a Covid-19 enforced one year absence the hugely popular All-Ireland Junior B Club Hurling Series will return in the New Year.

Since 2006 west Limerick GAA club Killeedy have staged the competition for the respective county JBHC winners from across Ireland.

The Raheenagh based club have staged Munster, Leinster and All-Ireland competitions and are planning for a return of the Junior B series in January and February - Covid-19 restrictions permitting.

In the New Year, Blackrock will represent Limerick in the Munster Junior B series after their county final win over Bruff last Sunday.

Doon in 2015 are the only Limerick side to win the All-Ireland Junior B hurling title - Bruree (2009) and Rathkeale (2010) were both beaten finalists.

St Lachtains of Kilkenny won the first title in 2006, while the current holders (2020 winners) are Loughrea.

Across the 15 years of the competition, Tipperary and Galway clubs lead the roll of honour with four titles each; followed by Kilkenny (3), Cork (2), Wexford and Limerick with one each.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.