Limerick hurling team v Tipperary - Hurler of the Year and captain among four out


Cian Lynch, Graeme Mulcahy, Declan Hannon and Gearoid Hegarty out of Limerick team

LIMERICK have made four changes to their team for Sunday's Munster Senior Hurling Championship tie with Tipperary.

Hurler of the Year Cian Lynch and All-Ireland winning captain Declan Hannon are among those to drop out of the team that had Limerick's biggest Munster SHC win over Clare since 1941 in the LIT Gaelic Grounds last Sunday.

Also dropping out of the team are Graeme Mulcahy and Gearoid Hegarty.

Into the side for the final round group game in Semple Stadium are Shane Dowling, Seamus Flanagan, Dan Morrissey and Darragh O'Donovan. 

Hannon is the only one of the four dropping out that not listed among the 11 substitutions. The Adare man has started the last 17 championship games for Limerick - a 2015 All-Ireland Qualifier v Westmeath the last game he didn't start.

The absence of Hannon, means the half back line is that which played against Dublin in the Allianz League semi final - Byrnes, Morrissey and O'Loughlin.

Cian Lynch is one of six that have played every minute of the 2019 Munster SHC to-date. His omission ends a run of 14 successive starts in the championship stretching back to a 2016 All-Ireland SHC Qualifier with Clare.

Of the four newcomers Dan Morrissey and Darragh O'Donovan have already made Munster SHC starts this Summer and both Dowling and Flanagan have played roles off the bench.

Flanagan hasn't started for Limerick since the Allianz Hurling League quarter final win over Laois.

Dowling starts his first championship game since the loss to Clare last Summer. His introduction means there are four Na Piarsaigh players in the line-up.

Limerick have used 23 players in the three games to-date in the Munster SHC and on Sunday six of the 11 substitutions haven't see championship time in this campaign.

In the absence of Hannon, Limerick will be captained by Tom Morrissey.

Meanwhile, Tipperary have made three changes from the side that beat Clare in Ennis two weeks ago- into the team come James Barry, Sean O'Brien and Jake Morris for Alan Flynn, Barry Heffernan and Dan McCormack.

Sunday's game has a 2pm start and will be live on RTE television's The Sunday Game.

While stand tickets are sold-out, terrace tickets (€20) will be on sale outside the group on Sunday.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Sean Finn (Bruff), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Richie English (Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock); Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh); Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh). Subs: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Aaron Costello (Kilmallock), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Barry Nash (South Liberties), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Pat Ryan (Doon).

TIPPERARY: Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha); Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Seán O’Brien (Newport); Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields); Michael Breen (Ballina), Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney); Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg); John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Séamus Callanan (Drom-Inch), Jason Forde (Silvermines). Subs: Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy), Ger Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Robert Byrne (Portroe), Willie Connors (Kiladangan), Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Alan Flynn (Kiladangan), Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg), Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Séamus Kennedy (St Marys), Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.