Search our Archive


BREAKING: Limerick confirm 2019 senior hurling championship panel

Limerick confirm 2019 senior hurling championship panel

JOHN Kiely and his Limerick senior hurling management have confirmed a 37-man panel for the 2019 championship.

Limerick will begin their All-Ireland title defence on Sunday May 19 against Cork in the Munster SHC in the Gaelic Grounds.

After club championship games during April, Limerick regrouped last week to begin their Munster SHC preparations in earnest. Limerick had a two night stay in The Johnstown Estate in Enfield, Co Meath last weekend for a pre-championship training camp.

Four depart from the Allianz Hurling League winning panel - Barry O'Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Oisin O'Reilly (Kilmallock), Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen) and Ronan Connolly (Adare). 

O'Connell, O'Reilly and Lyons were part of the 36-man 2018 All-Ireland winning panel but none of the trio saw championship action. None of the departing quartet played during the eight game run to the league title.

There are five new faces, added to those remaining from last year's Liam MacCarthy Cup winning panel - Conor Boylan, Robbie Hanley, Aaron Costello, Mikey O’Brien and Jamie Power. All played during the league bar goalkeeper Jamie Power.

Limerick only carried two goalkeepers during last year's championship but now have Nickie Quaid, Barry Hennessy and Jamie Power.

The 37-man panel also includes Richie McCarthy, who will miss the entire Munster SHC as he continues to rehab back from a cruciate ligament injury.

There are 18 clubs represented in the panel with back-to-back Limerick SHC winners Na Piarsaigh leading the way with seven players - both Kilmallock and Doon have five players each.

PANEL: Shane Dowling, David Dempsey, Mike Casey, Peter Casey, William O’Donoghue, Kevin Downes and Conor Boylan (all Na Piarsaigh); Barry Hennessy, Graeme Mulcahy, Paddy O’Loughlin, Robbie Hanley and Aaron Costello (all Kilmallock); Richie English, Pat Ryan, Darragh O’Donovan, Barry Murphy and Mikey O’Brien (all Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes, Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane (all Patrickswell); Andrew La Touche Cosgrave and Jamie Power (both Monaleen), Dan Morrissey and Tom Morrissey (both Ahane); Paul Browne and Sean Finn (both Bruff); Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Declan Hannon (Adare), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen); Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Nickie Quaid (Effin), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), William O’Meara (Askeaton).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.