Search our Archive


Limerick hurling star Cian Lynch among 23 nominees for RTE Sportsperson of the Year

Limerick hurling star Cian Lynch among 23 nominees for RTE Sportsperson of the Year

LIMERICK All-Ireland hurling hero Cian Lynch is one of 23 nominees for the prestigious RTE Sportsperson of the Year award.

On the back of ending Limerick's 45 year All-Ireland SHC famine in Croke Park, the Patrickswell man has already won the GAA-GPA Hurler of the Year award, an All-Star and Hurling Personality of the Year at the Gaelic Writers’ Association Awards

Lynch is the only Limerick native among the 23-strong list of nominees.

The final shortlist will be announced on Sunday Sport on RTÉ Radio 1 on Sunday December 9 and Darragh Maloney and Joanne Cantwell will present the RTÉ Sport Awards 2018 live on RTÉ One on Saturday December 15 at 9.20pm.

Along with the Sportsperson of the Year award the show will also see the Young Sportsperson of the Year, Team of the Year and Manager of the Year honoured, with Limerick likely to feature among these short-lists also.

The full list of nominees is:

Cian Lynch (Hurling), Sinead Aherne (Ladies Football), Thomas Barr (Athletics), TJ Doheny (Boxing), Katie-Geroge Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal (para-cycling), Brian Fenton (Gaelic Football), Kellie Harrington (Boxing), Phil Healy (Athletics), Patrick Hoban (Soccer), Ellen Keane (Para-Swimming), Arthur Lanigan-O'Keeffe (Pentathlon), Dan Martin (Cycling), Padraig McCarthy (Equestrian), Rhys McCleanaghan (Gymnastics), Ayeisha McFerran (Hockey), Sanita Puspure (Rowing), Jonathan Rea (Motorcyclist), Davy Russell (Jockey), Shane Ryan (Swimming), Johnny Sexton (Rugby), Chloe Sigerson (Camogie), Jason Smyth (Para-Athletics), Katie Taylor (Boxing).

The judging panel is Sean Blackwell (RTÉ Sport Awards Programme Editor), Kieran Cunningham (Chief Sports Writer, Irish Daily Star), Declan McBennett (RTÉ Sport, Group Head of Sport), Ryan McCann (RTÉ Sport Awards Executive Producer), Shane McGrath (Chief Sports Writer, Irish Daily Mail & Irish Mail on Sunday), Donagh McGrath (RTÉ Sport, Deputy Head Radio Sports & News), Mary O'Connor (CEO of the Federation of Irish Sport), Clíona O’Leary (RTÉ Sport, Deputy Head, TV Sport), Sarah O’Shea (Secretary General at Olympic Council of Ireland & Director at SOS Sports Consulting), Mikey Stafford (Editor, RTÉ Sport Output on Digital Platforms), Denis Walsh (Sports Writer, The Sunday Times) and Andy Watters (Sports Reporter, Irish News).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.