Munster name team to face Exeter in Champions Cup

Munster name team to face Exeter in Champions Cup

Limerick centre Dan Goggin makes his first Champions Cup start for Munster in Saturday's opener against Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park, 3.15pm

MUNSTER Head Coach Johann van Grann has named his side to face Exeter Chiefs on Saturday afternoon in the province’s Champions Cup opener at Sandy Park (3.15pm, live on BT Sport).

There are several changes to the side that were edged out by Leinster in the Guinness PRO14 at the Aviva Stadium last weekend.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Andrew Conway moving to the right wing and Keith Earls retaining his place on the left flank to make his 155th appearance for the province.

Rory Scannell comes into the back-line at inside centre to partner Dan Goggin in midfield who makes his Champions Cup debut.

The half-back pairing sees Duncan Williams start at scrum-half alongside Joey Carbery who maintains his place at out-half.

There is an unchanged front row with Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer packing down.

Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne continue their partnership in the second row.

Chris Cloete is the only change to the pack with captain Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander making up the back row.

Neil Cronin is in line to make his return from injury off the replacements bench, which includes Rhys Marshall, James Cronin, John Ryan, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, JJ Hanrahan and Sammy Arnold.

MUNSTER: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Joey Carbery, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (Capt), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander. Replacements: Rhys Marshall, James Cronin, John Ryan, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Neil Cronin, JJ Hanrahan, Sammy Arnold.

EXETER CHIEFS: Phil Dollman, Jack Nowell, Henry Slade, Ian Whitten, Santiago Cordero; Gareth Steenson (capt), Stuart Townsend; Ben Moon, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Harry Williams; Dave Dennis, Sam Skinner; Dave Ewers, Don Armand, Matt Kvesic. Replacements: Jack Yeandle, Alec Hepburn, Tomas Francis, Ollie Atkins, Tom Lawday, Jack Maunder, Joe Simmonds, Sam Hill.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.