Search our Archive


Limerick make six changes for hurling promotion decider with Galway 

Limerick make six changes for hurling promotion decider with Galway 

Galway's John Coen and Diarmaid Byrnes pictured at a media event ahead of Sunday

LIMERICK hurling manager John Kiely has named his team for Sunday’s winner-takes-all Allianz Hurling League promotion decider with Galway.

Limerick go to Salthill’s Pearse Stadium to play the All Ireland and League champions in the knowledge that a win or draw will seal promotion out of Division 1B after eight years outside of the top flight.

The Limerick team shows six changes from the side that beat Antrim in round four two weeks ago. Back into the team come a quartet of UL Fitzgibbon Cup winners, along with experienced duo Nickie Quaid and Seamus Hickey.

Quaid and Hickey are two of just six players in the 43-man Limerick panel that have previously played in Division 1A of the Allianz Hurling League.

Limerick have used 28 players in the four league games to-date but Sunday’s see All Ireland U-21 winning centre back Kyle Hayes in a match day squad for the first time this season after an injury lay-off.

Limerick continue to plan without the 10 Na Piarsaigh club players, while out injured are Darragh O’Donovan and Barry Nash.

Back into the team for the trip to Galway are Quaid and Hickey, along with Sean Finn, Gearoid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey and Barry Murphy.

The only line of the team that remains in situ is the half back line with captain Declan Hannon in the middle of Dan Morrissey and Diarmaid Byrnes, who is the only player to have seen every minute of action in the seven games played in the 2018 season.

Sunday’s round five Division 1B game has a 2.30 start in Galway and is the second part of a double-header with Galway and Monaghan playing an Allianz Football League game at 12.30.

Both games in Pearse Stadium are live on TG4.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Sean Finn (Bruff), Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher), Richie English (Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Declan Hannon (Adare), Dan Morrissey (Ahane); Paul Browne (Bruff), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh), Barry Murphy (Doon). Subs: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), Pat Ryan (Doon), Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry, Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock), Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen). 

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.