Clinical Glenstal too strong for Crescent College in Munster Schools Senior Cup semi-final

Clinical Glenstal too strong for Crescent College in Munster Schools Senior Cup semi-final

Line-out action from Glenstal Abbey's Munster Schools Senior Cup semi-final win over Crescent College

CLINICAL Glenstal Abbey powered their way into a second successive Clayton Hotel Munster Schools Senior Cup final when recording a deserved 30-10 win over Crescent College Comprehensive at the Markets Field on Monday afternoon.

The Murroe side laid the foundation for this semi-final win in the opening half after which the winners held a significant 20-7 lead.

The winners scored two tries in that opening period from wingers Ronan Quinn and Andrew Hogan, while Glebnstal’s hugely influential out-half Ben Healy contributed 13 points with the boot, including the match-clinching drop goal five minutes from full-time.

Glenstal face a trip to Cork for the final which takes place on Sunday next, March 19 when the Co Limerickck side will face the winners of this Thursday’s all-Cork semi-final between PBC and CBC.

Glenstal tasted defeat at the hands of PBC in last year’s final, their first appearance in the decider since 1970.

On a perfect day for rugby with dry, calm conditions. Glenstal gained an early advantage when captain Ben Healy kicked a third minute penalty after Crescent were penalised iat scrum time.

The Murroe side increaed their lead in the fifth minute with a terrific try. The flying Ronan Quinn made a terrific break up the left wing, before his progress was eventually halted. 

However, Glenstal would not be denied. The ball was quickly recycled with out-half Healy and full-back Aran Egan combining to send Quinn over in the left corner.

The accurate Healy landed a terrific conversion from under the stand.

The concession of that score sparked Crescent College into life and the Dooradoyle side hit back with their first try of the game when, following a terrific break from full-back Conor Phillips, flanker Jack Madden was on hand to score.

Daniel Hurley converted for 10-7. The see-saw nature of the contest continued however when Glenstal winger Andrew Hogan intercepted possession on the Crescent 10 metre line, before scampering clear to score. Healy’s successful conversion made it 17-7.

Crescent lost a player to a yellow card in the 32rd minute, with Healy landing the resultant penalty to help last year’s beaten finalists into a significant 20-7 interval lead.

After Glenstal Abbey lost a player to the sin-bin soon after the re-start, Crescent College enjoyed a period of dominance.

However, the decision to turn down a  straight forward kick at goal in the 40th minute for the potentially greater reward of a scrum back-fired when the Dooradoyle side knocked the ball on after the set-piece and the danger was cleared.

Crescent’s pressure did pay off in the 50th minute when centre Johnn Hurley landed a penalty goal to cut the deficit to 10 points, 10-20.

However, a terrific drop goal from Glenstal out-half Healy from 10 metres inside his own half in the 65th minute put the game beyond the Dooradoyle students.

Glenstal also added a third try in added time from their powerful number eight Mark Fleming when he gathered possession from a line-out with Healy converting.

SCORERS: Crescent College Comprehensive:  Jack Madden try, John Hurley con, pen. Glenstal Abbey School: Ronan Quinn, Andrew Hogan, Mark Fleming try each, Ben Healy two pens, three cons, drop goal.

CRESCENT COLLEGE COMPEHENSIVE: Conor Phillips; Cian Tuohy, Jamin Hoffman, John Hurley, Timothy Duggan; Jack Delaney, Aaron Cosgrove; Conor Fitzgerald, Ronan Reynolds, Ben Leahy; Peter King, Cian McDonagh; Jack Madden, Daniel Feasey, Fintan Coleman. Replacements: Joshua Fitzgerald, Dylan Shaw-Kelly, Eoin Feeney, Barry Scott, Brian Naughton, Jack Connolly, Paul Collins, Nevil O’Sullivan.

GLENSTAL ABBEY SCHOOL: Aran Egan; Andrew Hogan, Henry Benner, Caolan Dooley, Ronan Quinn; Ben Healy, Andrew Walsh; Harry Boland, George Downing, Patrick Prendergast; David Kelly, James Fitzgerald; Ronan Leahy, Conor Booth, Mark Fleming. Replacements: Eoghan Fitzgerald, Donagh Hyland, John Ashe, Mark Walsh, Niall Quelly, Brian Leonard, Scott McKeown, Mark O’Farrell.                                       

 REFEREE: Tommy O’Donoghue (MAR)


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.