Tyler Bleyendaal to make first start in four months for Munster against Glasgow

Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent



Tyler Bleyendaal to make first start in four months for Munster against Glasgow

Tyler Bleyendaal makes his first start in four months for Munster against Glasgow in Cork on Friday night

NEW Zealand out-half Tyler Bleyendaal will make his first start for Munster since October in Friday night’s Guinness Pro14 clash with Glasgow at Musgrave Park, 7pm.

Twenty seven-year-old Bleyendaal has recovered from a neck injury and played the final 20 minutes of Munster’s disappointing Pro14 defeat to Cardiff Blues at the Arms Park last weekend.

Bleyendaal’s partner at half-back for Friday night’s Conference A top-of-the-table clash with Glasgow will be James Hart who will make his third start of the season at scrum-half

Billy Holland captains the Munster side on his 180th appearance for the province as Head Coach Johann van Graan makes 12 changes to the team beaten in Cardiff last week.

Simon Zebo starts at full-back in his final game for the province in Cork before his summer move to Racing 92.

Andrew Conway returns from Ireland camp to start on the right wing with Alex Wootton, Munster’s top try-scorer so far this season, on the opposite flank.

Sammy Arnold and Dan Goggin are the centres with out-half Tyler Bleyendaal and scrum-half James Hart completing the backline.

A new front row sees hooker Niall Scannell return from international duty with James Cronin and Stephen Archer the two props.

Jean Kleyn partners Holland in the second row. Flanker Dave O’Callaghan makes his first start since returning from a long-term knee injury as Chris Cloete and no.8 Robin Copeland keep their places in the back row.

Rhys Marshall, Dave Kilcoyne and Brian Scott provide the front row cover as Gerbrandt Grobler and Jack O’Donoghue complete the forward replacements.

Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley and Greencore Munster Rugby Academy winger Calvin Nash are the backline substitutes.

MUNSTER: Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Sammy Arnold, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal, James Hart; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (C); Dave O’Callaghan, Chris Cloete, Robin Copeland. Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Gerbrandt Grobler, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Calvin Nash.