Last chance saloon for Limerick Oscar Traynor side

Pat Sheehan


Pat Sheehan


Last chance saloon for Limerick Oscar Traynor side

The Oscar Traynor Trophy

LIMERICK'S hopes of a long overdue Oscar Traynor trophy win rest on this season's squad recording a victory in their game versus the West Cork League this Sunday afternoon.

A disappointing opening result saw Limerick finish 1-1 with the Kerry League but subsequently lose on a penalty shoot-out while West Cork lost their opener to Clare on a 6-2 score line.

The new format for the competition sees the two ‘losers’ play off to decide who should progress. Twenty years without a success in the tournament masks something amiss when a league as strong as the LDL fails to transfer it’s club form to the representative side. Limerick have had plenty of opportunities in that period but all too often fell at the vital moment. Player for player, the LDL are as good as any in the country but have lacked the desire shown by some of our neighbours, not so blessed with skill but with an abundance of heart.

The management team of Derek Braddish, Mike Considine and David Dunphy will no doubt instill into the team that they have no right to win any game. Results must be earned and every game should be treated as if it’s all or nothing.

Sunday’s opponents, West Cork, have not had much luck against Limerick teams in recent times and will not be looking forward to the clash The addition of Conor Kavanagh and the silky skills he brings will be a huge boost to the side and he is the perfect link to get Limerick's free scoring front runners in on goal. A win sets up a clash with the Clare League for a place in the last eight.

Sunday’s starting XI will be chosen from the following panel; Rob Shire (Regional), John Mulready (Janesboro), Darragh Hughes (Ballynanty), Eddie O'Donovan (Pike Rovers), Tom Clarke (Janesboro), Dermot Fitzgerald (Ballynanty), Danny O'Neill (Janesboro), Pat Mullins (Pike Rovers), Kieran O'Connell (Regional), Steven McGann (Pike Rovers), Colin Daly (Pike Rovers), Steven Bradley (Janesboro), Conor Kavanagh (Fairview), Eoin Hanrahan (Pike Rovers), Darragh Rainsford (Carew Park), Shane Clarke (Janesboro), Keith Mawdsley (Janesboro), Evan Patterson (Regional)

Is there anyone who believes we will get back to normal on the local front following the January deluge? We live in hope.

The Lawson Cup has two games down for decision. Following the disappointment of having their Munster Junior Cup game abandoned last weekend, Hill Celtic will be hoping to put one over on a Murroe side on a high after defeating Grattan Utd in the Munster Junior Cup last weekend. 

Another team who had a bad weekend was Cappamore and they get a chance to bounce back to winning ways when they entertain Castle Rovers. In the Munster Youth Cup Pike Rvs travel to Dungarvan looking for a place in the quarter finals. A win for Geraldines away at Knockainey would see them join Prospect at the top of the Division 1A table, albeit with three extra games played.

However, some shrewd signings over the holiday period will see 'Dines put it up to one and all in the battle for promotion.

Another team well in contention is Summerville and they have a tricky assignment away to Corbally. A win would put the Greenfields side into second position, leapfrogging Cappamore, with the same number of games played. In Division 1B leaders Coonagh Utd take on joint second placed Athlunkard Villa. Shelbourne, also joint second host Southend.

In McGettigans Division 2A leaders Geraldines are not in action which gives the chasing pack a chance to close the gap. Hyde Rgs host Nenagh and Ballylanders travel to Moyross while Glenview Rvs are at home to Charleville. The Ger Ryan Youth Cup kicks off with a couple of interesting clashes. Corbally Utd play Caledonians in Athlunkard while Mungret Regional host Newport.

Knockainey welcome Charleville while Shelbourne face an uphill challenge versus Aisling Annacotty while the tie of the round pits Fairview Rgs against Kilfrush.

This evening (Wednesday) Corbally Utd take on Cappamore in the Div 1A O'Halloran Cup at Jackman Park with a 7pm kick off.