Ardscoil Ris suffer two Munster Schools Cup losses

Ardscoil Ris lost their Munster Schools Cup fixtures against CBC in Cork on Wednesday

ARDSCOIL Ris suffered defeat to CBC, of Cork, in the opening round of both the Clayton Hotels Munster Schools Senior and Junior Cups this Wednesday afternoon at Lansdowne.

In the Senior Cup clash, clinical CBC recorded an impressive 34-7 victory to book their place in the quarter-finals.

While there was no doubting CBC’s superiority on the day, the Cork side was flattered by the size of their victory.

After CBC built a significant 12-0 lead after just eight minutes, Ardscoil rallied with a try from Rhys Tucker following good work by the Ardscoil pack, including Daniel Okeke, Will O’Callaghan and Brian Noonan. Daragh O’Gorman landed the conversion for the Limerick side who trailed 20-7 at half-time.

Ardscoil, who stunned Christians in the Senior Cup last year, had their opponents pinned back for the third quarter, but couldn’t manage to unlock a solid Christians defence.

The Cork side scored two late converted tries to ease to victory.

Ardscoil could still join Christians’ in the quarter-finals either through gaining the bye available to one first round loser or by winning a play-off game next week.

Meanwhile, in the Junior Cup, CBC ran out 25-3 winners in their first round clash with Ardscoil Ris to book their quarter-final place.

Ardscoil remained very much in the contest at half-time, trailing by just two points, 3-5, at the interval.

Christopher Guerin kicked Ardscoil into the lead when he converted a penalty after four minutes.

However, CBC hit back with a try before half-time and powered clear in the second half.

CBC Senior Cup: Robert Hedderman; Matthew Bowen, Eoghan Barrett, Tomas Downes, Adam O’Connor; Cian Whooley, Jack O’Riordan; Mark Donnelly, Daniel O’Connor, Luke Masters; Dylan McAuliffe, John Willis; Cillian Barry, Ronan Barry, Ben Roche. Replacements: Charlie Rasmussen, David Good, Robert Loftus, Cian Hurley, Padraig Fives, Finn Burke, Louis Kahn, Billy Caine.

ARDSCOIL Rís Senior Cup: Cian O’Reilly; Cian Murphy, Killian Dineen, Glen Clancy, Liam O’Shanahan; Darragh O’Gorman, Ian Leonard; Matthew Gaule, Rhys Tucker, Ferdia Lyons; Brian Noonan, Will O’Callaghan; Michael O’Callaghan, Jack Ward Murphy, Daniel O’Keeffe. Replacements: Stephen Clery, Oskar Czyszczon, Kevin Danaher, John Taylor, Alex O'Halloran, Cian Moloney, Adam McNamara, David O’Byrne.

CBC Junior Cup: George Coomber; Ben McGarry, Daire Burke, Patrick O’Hara, Jack McGrath; Andrew O’Mahony, Eoin Birchall; Corey Hanlon, Luke McAuliffe, Alan McDonald; James Morrisson, Patrick McBarron; Kevin Roche, Dylan O’Connor, Ronan O’Sullivan. Replacements: Luke Buckley, Ryan Smith, Wanfred Waterman, Mark Ludgate, Jason Ahern, Jack Kennefick, Tom McCarthy, David McPolin.

ARDSCOIL Rís Junior Cup: Paddy Hassett; Alexander Keyes, Cian Noonan, Darragh McGleenan, Christopher Guerin; Rory O’Gorman, Darragh Shine; Mark Moylan, James White, Ronan Carew; Jack Maloney, Oran O’Reilly; Colin Kelly, David O’Loughlin, Mark O’Connor. Replacements: John Maher, Feidhlim Barry, Alex Dowling, Adam Kennedy, Ben McEnery, Stephen Noonan, Conor Maxwell, Damien Keogh.


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.