Munster's four changes for Ospreys clash

Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Munster's four changes for Ospreys clash

MUNSTER’S Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus has made four changes for Friday night's Guinness Pro12 encounter with high flying Ospreys at Musgrave Park, 7.35pm.

Stephen Archer comes in to join Dave Kilcoyne and Niall Scannell in the front row while Darren O'Shea and Robin Copeland form a new partnership in the second row.

There is no change in the back row from Friday night’s win over Ulster at Kingspan Stadium, with captain Peter O'Mahony, Tommy O'Donnell and Jack O'Donoghue all retaining their places

The final change is seen in the half backs where Tyler Bleyendaal returns to partner Duncan Williams. 

Try scorers from the win over Ulster, Rory Scannell and Jaco Taute, again take charge of midfield with a back three of Ronan O'Mahony, Darren Sweetnam and Andrew Conway completing the starting line-up.

Linking up with the squad this week, new signing Rhys Marshall is named in his first matchday squad. The hooker joins from Super Rugby side the Chiefs after penning a three-year deal that will see him stay with the province until June 2019.

Should they appear from the bench, development prop Peter McCabe and Young Munster scrum half Abrie Griesel will make their first PRO12 appearances.

MUNSTER: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Ronan O'Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Darren O'Shea, Robin Copeland; Peter O'Mahony (Capt), Tommy O'Donnell, Jack O'Donoghue. Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Peter McCabe, Brian Scott, John Madigan, Conor Oliver, Abrie Griesel, Ian Keatley, Alex Wootton.

OSPREYS: Dan Evans; Keelan Giles, Ben John, Ashley Beck, Eli Walker; Josh Matavesi, Tom Habberfield (Capt); Paul James, Sam Parry, Dmitri Arhip; Lloyd Ashley, Adam Beard; Rob McCusker, Olly Cracknell, Joe Bearman. Replacements: Hugh Gustafson, Gareth Thomas, Ma’afu Fia, Rhodri Jones, Scott Otten, Brendon Leonard, Jonathan Spratt, Dafydd Howells.