Impressive Monaleen claim Limerick SFC title

Impressive Monaleen claim Limerick SFC title

MONALEEN are Limerick SFC champions for the sixth time after this Saturday evening’s 2-14 to 1-11 win over Dromcollogher-Broadford.

The city side collected the winning trophy for the first time since 2011.

For Finbarr Nash, Paul Kinnerk and Jason O’Brien it’s a fifth winners medal.

Monaleen were adding this senior football title to the county Premier IHC title won last weekend – Ger Collins, Ed Doyle, John O’Dwyer starting in both finals.

After an opening half that saw neither side register a wide, Monaleen were 2-7 to 1-5 ahead at the break in the Gaelic Grounds..

Kevin Noonan had a Drom-Broadford goal after just four minutes but the Monaleen response was impressive to lead 1-4 to 1-0 after 11mins.

Graham O’Connell and Ger Collins had the points in reply to the Drom-Broadford goal and then in the 11th minute came the first Monaleen goal from wing back Shane Cusack.

Back came Drom-Broadford with Noonan getting their first point from play in the 15th minute and soon it was 1-4 to 1-3.

The second Monaleen goal came on 22-minutes when corner back Colm Moran found the net for a 2-5 to 1-3 lead.

Barry Fitzpatrick added a Monaleen point for a five point interval lead.

Derry McCarthy and Micheal Brosnan had Drom-Broadford points early in the second half but successive points from Ger Collins had Monasleen 2-10 to 1-7 ahead entering the final quarter.

Kevin Noonan and Killian Phair hit back for the west Limerick men to leave a goal between them with eight minutes to play.

Collins, Brian O’Donovan and Barry Fitzpatrick sealed the win with points in the final five minutes.

Collins ended with five points from play while Man of the Match Barry Fitzpatrick kicked three points from midfield.

The new Limerick champions will be in Munster club action on October 30 against Cork’s Ballincollig or Carbery Rangers.

MONALEEN: Donal O’Sullivan; Colm Moran, John O’Dwyer, Richie Murray; Padraig Quinn, Jack Hoare, Shane Cusack; Barry Fitzpatrick, Ross McGrath; Daniel Enright, Luke Kavanagh, Ed Doyle; Brian O’Donovan, Ger Collins, Graham O’Connell. Subs: Tony Barry for Shane Cusack, inj (15mins), Paul Kinnerk for Ross McGrath (50mins), Finbarr Nash for Richie Murray (53mins), Evan Quinlan for Tony Barry (53mins), Niall Loughran for Graham O’Connell (63mins).

DROM-BROADFORD: Daniel Gayer; Sean O’Sullivan, Dee O’Leary, Bryan Hannigan; Gary Egan, Garrett Noonan, Brian Noonan; John O’Gorman, Jason Stokes; Micheal Brosnan, Pat Donnelly, Derry McCarthy; Paul Madigan, Ger O’Gorman, Kevin Noonan. Subs: Cillian Fahy for Pat Donnelly (34mins), Ray Lynch for Sean O’Sullivan (38mins), Michael O’Sullivan for John O’Gorman (45mins), Killian Phair for Derry McCarthy (50mins), Micheal Reidy for Ger O’Gorman (55mins).

REFEREE: John Scully (Galbally).