Munster name team for Pro12 clash with Cardiff

Munster name team for Pro12 clash with Cardiff

Munster have named their team for Friday night’s Guinness Pro12 game away to Cardiff.

James Cronin and Mike Sherry both return to the starting side and join John Ryan in the front row with Dave Foley resuming his partnership in the second row with Billy Holland who again captains the side.
The return of Robin Copeland at number 8 sees Jack O'Donoghue switch to blindside and Dave O'Callaghan move to openside.

In the final change, winger Ronan O'Mahony has successfully overcome a hamstring complaint to re-join the back-three. Darren Sweetnam remains on the opposite wing as does Andrew Conway at full-back.

Duncan Williams and Ian Keatley again take charge at half-back with Rory Scannell and Francis Saili continuing in midfield.

Should he feature from the bench, academy second row Sean McCarthy will make his first Guinness PRO12 appearance. A native of Currow in Kerry and nephew of Mick Galwey, McCarthy has made 12 appearances for Munster A in the British and Irish Cup and started every game of this season's campaign. 

A Munster win could see them move into the top four in the table and ahead of Ulster. Cardiff are currently in ninth place, 13 points behind Anthony Foley’s men. Tonight’s other game sees Leinster travel to Glasgow.

The Munster game is not live on TV so the best place for updates will be the official Munster Rugby Twitter account.
MUNSTER: Andrew Conway, Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Ronan O'Mahony; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, John Ryan; Dave Foley, Billy Holland; Jack O'Donoghue, Dave O'Callaghan, Robin Copeland. Replacements: Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, Sean McCarthy, Jordan Coghlan, Cathal Sheridan, Johnny Holland, David Johnston.