Castletroy win and West Limerick draw in Harty Cup

West Limerick Harty Cup players Mikey Morrissey, Seamus Keating and Seamus Flanagan with Miriam Magner-Flynn, Managing Director of team sponsors
BOTH Limerick colleges produced top performances in the Harty Cup this Wednesday afternoon.

BOTH Limerick colleges produced top performances in the Harty Cup this Wednesday afternoon.

Castletroy College beat De La Salle of Waterford while West Limerick Colleges secured a draw against one of the championship favourites Thurles CBS.

It was the first game for both colleges in the Munster Post Primary senior A hurling championship.

In Claughaun West Limerick Colleges and Thurles played out a thriller with Cian Magner Flynn goaling from a last gasp injury time 21m free to snatch a deserved draw.

Back after a one year absence, West Limerick is an amalgamation of the secondary schools of Colaiste na Trocaire in Rathkeale, Hazelwood in Dromcollogher and Desmond College in Newcastle West.

Thurles struck for an early goal and were 1-6 to 0-8 up at half time.

But West Limerick struck for three goals. Seamus Flanagan and Denis Donegan hit goals to put West Limerick ahead.

Back came Thurles and went ahead in injury time. But West Limerick Colleges found an injury time equaliser when Cian Magner Flynn equalised with a late gasp free.

WEST LIMERICK COLLEGES: Glen McNamara, Mark Storan, Gearoid Mulcair, Seamus Hurley; Brendan Lynch, Gearoid Downey, William Hurley; Seamus Keating, Mikey Morrissey; Mikey Sexton Brian Hurley, Seamus Flanagan, Kevin Shanahan; Dean Collins, Denis Donegan, Cian Magner Flynn.

Castletroy College, managed by teachers Peter O’Reilly and Leonard Coughlan, were 3-9 to 1-9 winners in Cahir.

The Limerick city side were rocked by a Waterford goal in the third minute but gained control by half time to lead 2-6 to 1-2.

In the second half Castletroy eased to the two goal win. They had goals from Barry Nash, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave and Aaron Kennedy. La Touche Cosgrave chipped in with a number of points from frees.

CASTLETROY COLLEGE: Jamie Power (Monaleen); Brian Nash (South Liberties, Evan Enright (Ahane), Finn Hourigan (Murroe-Boher); David Garry (South Liberties), Colum Carroll (Ahane), Kevin Gleeson (Monaleen); Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), Ciaran O’Mara (Ahane); Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Ian Coates (Old Christians); Aaron Kennedy (Murroe-Boher), Conor Nicholas (Monaleen), Mark O’Dwyer (Monaleen). Sub: Aaron Hackett (Ahane) for Nicholas.