Limerick and Tipperary - memorable hurling clashes

Tipperary's Colm Bonnar holds off the challenge of Limerick's Frankie Carroll in 1996
FROM the memorable final in Cork in ‘96 to ending the Thurles famine in Thurles in 2014, Limerick and Tipperary’s hurling rivalry is strong.

FROM the memorable final in Cork in ‘96 to ending the Thurles famine in Thurles in 2014, Limerick and Tipperary’s hurling rivalry is strong.


Limerick 2-18, Tipperary 2-16

THIS semi final victory was Limerick’s first championship win over Tipperary in Thurles since 1973.

After so many near misses down the years it was almost poetic that Limerick struck late to secure victory in this Munster SHC semi final tie.

Watched by 24,962 Limerick made little of their 3/1 outsider tag. The victory for TJ Ryan’s men ensured back-to-back championship wins over Tipperary for the first time since 1995-96. Twelve months ago Limerick hit 1-18 to win by three points and this time round the men in green found 1-2 in the last three minutes to win.

SCORERS: Limerick: Shane Dowling 2-9 (1-9frees), Kevin Downes, Donal O’Grady 0-2 each, Declan Hannon, Paul Browne, Graeme Mulcahy,Tom Ryan, Seamus Hickey 0-1 each. Tipperary: Seamus Callanan (3frees), John O’Dwyer (1free) 0-5 each, Gearoid Ryan 1-2, Niall O’Meara, Noel McGrath, Lar Corbett, Denis Maher 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid; Seamus Hickey, Richie McCarthy, Tom Condon; Paudie O’Brien, Wayne McNamara, Gavin O’Mahony; Paul Browne, James Ryan; Declan Hannon, Donal O’Grady, Shane Dowling; Graeme Mulcahy, Kevin Downes, Seanie Tobin. Subs: Tom Ryan for Seanie Tobin (60mins), Micheal Ryan for Graeme Mulcahy (71mins).

TIPPERARY: Darren Gleeson; Cathal Barrett, Padraic Maher, Michael Cahill; James Barry, Brendan Maher, Conor O’Mahony; Kieran Bergin, Shane McGrath; Gearoid Ryan, Noel McGrath, John O’Dwyer; Patrick Maher, Seamus Callanan, Niall O’Meara: Subs: Lar Corbett for James Barry (53mins), Denis Maher for Niall O’Meara (61mins), Conor O’Brien for Michael Cahill (69mins), Shane Bourke for John O’Dwyer (67mins), Tomas Stapleton for Shane McGrath (70mins). REFEREE: Barry Kelly (Westmeath).


Limerick 0-22, Tipperary 2-13

No one could have forecast on June 10 what lay ahead three full terms of 70 minutes and two periods of extra time.

In four hours and ten minutes of hurling, the sides were level on 18 occasions, 47 players saw action in the Gaelic Grounds and Semple Stadium, scoring 125 times. Yet only one statistic matters. Limerick were victorious.

When Limerick lost the 2001 Munster Final to Tipperary no one would have forecast that it would be six seasons before they would win another provincial clash.

At the ninth attempt, Limerick again tasted success.

Not even the most imaginative of fiction writers could have scripted this epic. For this second replay, the official attendance was 30,608.

Richie Bennis’ side hit 12 wides in the course of the 70 minutes and despite dominating many positions but Tipp forced extra time.

Limerick won in extra time in a classic tie that will go down in history as the first time that three games and two periods of extra time were needed in the Munster SHC.

SCORERS: Limerick: Andrew O’Shaughnessy 0-6 (3frees, 1 ‘65), Niall Moran 0-5, Brian Geary (1free, 1 ’ 65), Ollie Moran 0-3 each, Kevin Tobin, Michael Fitzgerald 0-2 each, Donal O’Grady 0-1. Tipperary: Eoin Kelly 0-9 (7frees), Darragh Egan, Willie Ryan 1-0 each, Seamus Butler 0-2, Shane McGrath, Pa Bourke 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Brian Murray; Damien Reale, Stephen Lucey, Seamus Hickey; Mark O’Riordan, Brian Geary, Mark Foley; Mike O’Brien, Donal O’Grady; Niall Moran, Ollie Moran, Michael Fitzgerald; Andrew O’Shaughnessy, Brian Begley, Kevin Tobin. Subs: Peter Lawlor for Damien Reale, inj (9mins), James O’Brien for Brian Begley (47mins), Pat Tobin for Kevin Tobin (69mins), Barry Foley for Mike Fitzgerald (80mins), Hugh Flavin for Pat Tobin (83mins).

TIPPERARY: Gerry Kennedy; Eamonn Buckley, Declan Fanning, Diarmuid Fitzgerald; Eamonn Corcoran, Conor O’Mahony, Hugh Maloney; Shane McGrath, James Woodlock; John Carroll, Darragh Egan, Benny Dunne; Seamus Butler, Eoin Kelly, Lar Corbett. Subs: Thomas Stapleton for Shane McGrath (54mins), Pa Bourke for John Carroll (63mins), Willie Ryan for Benny Dunne (67mins).

REFEREE: Sean McMahon (Clare)


Limerick 1-17, Tipperary 2-16

One of those missed opportunities for Eamonn Cregan’s Limerick in this Pairc Ui Chaoimh Munster final.

In the end it was late points from Brian O’Meara and John O’Brien that won Tipperary’s first title since 1993 as they made amends for a final loss 12-months previous to Cork.

Early on, it looked as if Tipperary would ease past Limerick as they raced into a 0-6 to 0-2 lead. Limerick responded with a goal from Sean O’Connor.

At half time it was level (Tipperary 2-8 Limerick 1-11). In front of 43,500 Limerick were to pay for 13 wides.

The sides were level with five minutes to play but it was Tipp that won out.

SCORERS: Limerick: Seanie O’Connor 1-3, Paul O’Grady 0-5 (5frees), Mark Foley 0-2, Ciaran Carey, Mike O’Brien, Jack Foley, Ollie Moran, James Butler, Brian Begley, Barry Foley 0-1 each. Tipperary: Declan Ryan, Lar Corbett 1-1 each, Mark O’Leary 0-3, Eddie Enright 0-2, Brian O’Meara 0-2, Eoin Kelly 0-2 (2frees), Tommy Dunne 0-2 (1free), Paul Kelly, Eugene O’Neill, Liam Cahill 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Timmy Houlihan; Steve McDonogh, TJ Ryan, Brian Geary; Clem Smith, Ciaran Carey, Mark Foley; Mike O’Brien, Jack Foley; Paul O’Grady, Ollie Moran, Seanie O’Connor; James Butler, Brian Begley, Barry Foley. Subs: Damien Reale for Steve McDonogh (39mins), Owen O’Neill for James Butler (52mins), Mark Keane for Owen O’Neill, inj (60mins).

TIPPERARY: Brendan Cummins; Tomas Costello, Philip Maher, Paul Ormonde; John Carroll, David Kennedy, Eamonn Corcoran; Tommy Dunne, Paul Kelly; Mark O’Leary, Eddie Enright, Brian O’Meara; Eoin Kelly, Declan Ryan, Lar Corbett. Subs: Eugene O’Neill for Eddie Enright (h-t), Noel Morris for John Carroll (50mins), John O’Brien for Lar Corbett (58mins), Liam Cahill for Mark O’Leary (63mins).

REFEREE: Pat Horan (Offaly)


Limerick 4-7, Tipperary 0-16

A replay win that will always be remembered for Owen O’Neill goals on Leeside.

Current Limerick manager TJ Ryan also found the net.

SCORERS: Limerick: Owen O’Neill 2–0, Frankie Carroll and TJ Ryan 1–1 each, Damien Quigley 0–2, Barry Foley, Ciaran Carey and Gary Kirby 0–1 each. Tipperary: Michael Cleary 0–7, Declan Ryan 0–4, Nicky English 0–3, Liam McGrath and Liam Cahill 0–1 each.

LIMERICK: Joe Quaid; Stephen McDonogh, Mike Nash, Declan Nash; Dave Clarke, Ciaran Carey, Mark Foley; Mike Houlihan, Sean O’Neill; Frankie Carroll, Gary Kirby, Mike Galligan; Owen O’Neill, Damien Quigley, TJ Ryan. Subs: Barry Foley for Mike Galligan, Padraig Tobin for Frankie Carroll.

TIPPERARY: Brendan Cummins; George Frend; Paul Shelly, Michael Ryan; Ramie Ryan, Colm Bonnar, Paul Delaney; Brian O’Meara, Conal Bonnar; Michael Clearly, Liam McGrath, John Leahy; Liam Cahill, Declan Ryan, Nicky English. Subs: Aidan Ryan for John Leahy, Kevin Tucker for Brian O’Meara, Pat Fox for Liam McGrath.

REFEREE: Joe O’Leary (Cork).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.