Brian Ryan overlooked for Limerick minor and U-21 manager roles

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Departing Limerick minor hurling manager Brian Ryan
BRIAN Ryan will not be re-appointed as Limerick minor hurling manager - nor will he be elevated to the role of U-21 manager.

BRIAN Ryan will not be re-appointed as Limerick minor hurling manager - nor will he be elevated to the role of U-21 manager.

Just over a week after guiding Limerick to the All-Ireland minor hurling final, where they lost to Kilkenny, Ryan has been overlooked to remain in the position.

His two year term ended with defeat in Croke Park but Brian Ryan had told LeaderSport that he was interested in continuing as Limerick minor hurling manager but also stated he was open to moving up to the U-21 grade to continue working with the players he had managed for the past two seasons at U-18 level.

An officer meeting of Limerick GAA this Monday night agreed to propose a new minor hurling manager and a new U-21 hurling manager to Thursday’s night’s September County Board meeting in Claughaun.

Former Munster U-21 championship winning manager Leo O’Connor is to take over from Brian Ryan as Limerick minor manager. The Claughaun man, who won an All-Ireland minor hurling title with Limerick in 1984, was manager of the Limerick U-15 side this season, while also coaching the Mayo senior hurlers.

O’Connor is to have out-going coach/trainer Jerry Wallace as part of his backroom team. The former Limerick and Cork senior hurling trainer is the only member of Brian Ryan’s out-going management to remain in situ.

O’Connor is to have selectors John Mulqueen, Pat Donnelly and Brian Foley. It is understood that they are to get a two year term.

While many felt Brian Ryan would depart the minor role, he had confirmed that the vacant U-21 position was of interest to him.

However, he has also been overlooked for that role and it appears that former senior, intermediate and U-21 selector John Kiely is to get the U-21 manager’s job - replacing Ciaran Carey, who was only given a one year term this time last year.

Garryspillane’s Kiely was a selector with John Allen, when Limerick won the Munster SHC last Summer.

The appointments of O’Connor and Kiely were agreed this Monday night at an officers meeting of Limerick GAA.

That meeting also confirmed that Don Flynn is to remain as Limerick intermediate manager for 2015. There are some changes to his backroom team with his selectors now reading; Declan O’Grady, Tony Roche and Tom Ryan.

Both names of the three mangers will now need to be rubber-stamped by the clubs of the county at a full County Board meeting on Thursday night.