Limerick students receive 17 nominations in media awards

Aine Fitzgerald


Aine Fitzgerald


UL receives 17 nominations in student media awards

Awards recognition is "wonderful validation as students prepare to enter the world of work,” said Kathryn Hayes, course director, BA Journalism and New Media UL

JOURNALISM students at the University of Limerick have secured a record number of nominations in the National Student Media Awards.

Limerick Voice, which was named newspaper of the year in 2018, has been nominated for the third year running in a number of different categories including: Newspaper of the Year; Layout and Design; and Website of the Year.  Frances Watkins, the 2018 editor of the 40-page local newspaper, produced by masters and fourth year Journalism and New Media students, has also been nominated for Editor of the Year.

UL’s student newspaper An Focal overseen by second year Journalism and New Media student Christine Costelleo, has also been nominated in the Layout and Design and Website of the Year categories.

The National Student Media Awards or the Smedias as they are known, is the largest competition of its kind in Ireland dedicated to recognising and celebrating the next generation of media talent. Open to students from every college across Ireland the awards are judged by key media industry leaders including Mark Hennessey, news editor of The Irish Times, and Fionnan Sheahan, editor of The Irish Independent.

Two UL journalism students have been nominated for Journalist of the Year including Muireann Duffy whose interview with cervical cancer campaigner Vicky Phelan, revealed how the brave mother-of-two has been using money raised for her own cancer treatment to help others gain access to the wonder drug Pembrolizumab responsible for keeping her alive.

Journalism MA student Minyang Pang, a scholarship student from Beijing Sports University, has been nominated in the News and Sports Photographer of the Year categories.

Second year journalism student Ronan Coughlan has also been nominated in two categories: Sports Writer of the Year and in the Radio Production category for the radio show Beyond the Game, which he co-presents with fellow second year student Ivan Smyth.

“From second year right up to Masters level our students’ work is being recognised by national media industry figures, which is a wonderful validation as they prepare to enter the world of work,” said Kathryn Hayes, course director, BA Journalism and New Media UL.

The awards take place this Thursday, April 11.