Latest Limerick recipients of JP McManus scholarships get ‘life changing’ awards

The 2018 JP McManus Scholarship recipents with JP McManus, Denis O’Connor (principal, CBS Sexton Street) and Elaine Minogue (deputy principal)

The 2018 JP McManus Scholarship recipents with JP McManus, Denis O’Connor (principal, CBS Sexton Street) and Elaine Minogue (deputy principal)

THE latest recipients of JP McManus scholarships have been told to “live the moment” and to never forget where they have come from as they progress in their studies and future careers.

Since the scholarships were established, 177 past pupils of CBS Sexton Street have received scholarships towards their third level education at a cost of more than €3.3m.

The 2018 recipients of JP McManus scholarships were presented with their awards at the Dunraven Arms Hotel, Adare on Friday night.

The eight – Andrew Hayes, Dylan Hughes, Rokas Jesevicius, Ben Kirkland, Michael McInerney, Adam O’Mahony, Dawid Polit and Alejandro de Los Santos Puerto – completed their Leaving Certificate examinations in June. 

Each of the scholarship recipients will receive €6,750 a year for the duration of their third ­level studies.

Since the awards scheme was established in 1997, a total of 128 recipients have graduated with many now working around the globe.

Speaking at Friday’s ceremony Pat McInerney, who received a scholarship in 1999, said it was a life-changing experience.

“It’s something that never leaves you, still to this day I’m introduced at meetings as a JP McManus scholar and the value of that can’t leave you – the financial benefit you can’t forget or minimise because it’s huge – but the reality is just to take stock of it,” said Mr McInerney, who is a partner at Holmes O’Malley Sexton solicitors.

The scholarship scheme, which currently costs around €200,000 to run every year, is administered by four trustees,­ Gerry Boland, Noel Earlie, Eddie Fallon and Pat Hartigan, on behalf of JP McManus, who is a past pupil of CBS Sexton Street.

This year’s scholarships were presented by the Minister of State Patrick O’Donovan while the guest of honour was Munster team manager Niall O’Donovan.

The Mayor of Limerick City and County, Cllr James Collins, also attended the event as did Noreen McManus and representatives of UL, Mary I and LIT.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.