Taoiseach Enda Kenny confirms date of general election

Nick Rabbitts


Nick Rabbitts

Taoiseach Enda Kenny dissolves Dáil ahead of general election

Taoiseach Enda Kenny has finally confirmed a date for the general election

TAOISEACH Enda Kenny has requested the dissolution of the 31st Dáil and confirmed the date of the general eleection, which will take place on Friday, February 26.

Speaking in the Dail this Wednesday morning, Mr Kenny did not actually give a date for the election has travellled to Áras an Uachtarain to formally ask President Michael D Higgins to dissolve the Dáil.

However, Mr Kenny has since confirmed – via his twitter account - that Ireland will go to the polls on Friday, February 26. 

21 candidates have so far confirmed their intention to run in the election across Limerick's two constituencies.

Ten candidates will seek election for four seats in Limerick city. They are outgoing TDs Finance Minister Michael Noonan, Education Minister Jan O'Sullivan, Kieran O'Donnell and Willie O'Dea.

They will be joined on the ticket by Cllr Maurice Quinlivan, Sinn Fein and Cllr Cian Prendiville, Anti-Austerity Alliance, plus James Gaffney, Green Party, Sarah-Jane Hennelly, Social Democrats, Christian Democrat Nora Bennis and former Renua candidate Desmond Hayes, who is now running as an Independent.

Meanwhile, in rural county Limerick, three seats are up for grabs.

Here, the election will be contested by outgoing TDs Patrick O'Donovan, Fine Gael and Niall Collins, Fianna Fail.

They will be joined on the ticket by Independent candidate Cllr Emmett O'Brien, Tom Neville, Fine Gael, Senator James Heffernan, Social Democrats, Cllr Richard O'Donoghue, Independent, Cllr Seamus Browne, Sinn Fein, John O'Gorman, Independent and Con Cremin, Independent.

Also seeking election in the county is Alexander Cosgrave of the Green Party and Mark Keogh of Direct Democracy Ireland.

The next Dail will sit on March 10 after the election, it has also been confirmed.