Limerick footballers finalise team

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

MIDFIELD star John Galvin has been confirmed as a member of the Limerick substitutes for Saturday’s Munster SFC against Clare.

MIDFIELD star John Galvin has been confirmed as a member of the Limerick substitutes for Saturday’s Munster SFC against Clare.

The towering Croom man could be an option for Maurice Horan’s side for the provincial semi-final just 10-weeks after a recurrence of a cruciate ligament injury appeared to bring his season to an end.

The Limerick team shows two changes from the side that beat Waterford.

Into the side from Newcastle West duo Stephen Kelly and Iain Corbett - both in the half forward line.

Kelly returns to full fitness and replaced Eoghan O’Connor at centre forward, while 19 year old Corbett makes his first championship start in place of Eoin Barry at wing forward.

Four or five of the Limerick and Clare senior football teams would make their way onto the Dublin team.

That was the ringing endorsement from Limerick coach Brian Lacey ahead of Saturday.

Lacey, who won an All-Star with Kildare in 1998, joined Maurice Horan’s Limerick set-up this season.

“I think there are footballers on the Clare and Limerick teams that would walk onto the Dublin and Kildare teams – speaking from being up that side of the country. Four or five of the two teams would walk onto the Dublin team if they were in those respective counties,” said Lacey this week.

“I don’t think Limerick and Clare and the Waterfords and Tipperarys get the recognition from the media,” said the Tipperary native, who switched to the Mick O’Dwyer managed Kildare in the late 1990’s.

“Division Four wasn’t as weak as people might think - whoever comes out of this will have a right crack at a Munster title and hopefully it will be us,” said Lacey.

“Hopefully we can play for 70-minutes because we won’t get away with the first half against Waterford,” explained Lacey, who hopes that the opening round game will be an advantage to his side.

“Its definitely a help for us – this time of the year games are a big help, it doesn’t matter how much training you have done. Its games that bring people on. We are going into a Munster semi-final and it’s interesting that there are teams in other provinces that haven’t even kicked a ball yet,” said the Limerick coach.

“There is no substitute for championship football and from a coaching point of view our goal was always the Munster championship in the summer.”

LIMERICK - Brian Scanlon (Gerald Griffin’s); Johnny McCarthy (StKierans), Paudie Browne (Fr Caseys), Lorcan O’Dwyer (Pallasgreen); Stephen Lavin (Adare), John Riordan (Fr Caseys), Pa Ranahan (Ballysteen); Thomas Lee (Ballylanders), Paul Kinnerk (Monaleen); Iain Corbett (Newcastle West), Stephen Kelly (Newcastle West), Seanie Buckley (Dromcollogher-Broadford); Ger Collins (Monaleen), Seamus O’Carroll (Cappagh-Kilcornan), Ian Ryan (St Senans). Subs: Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen), Damien Quaid (St Mary’s Sean Finns), Andrew Lane (St Senan’s), Stephen Lucey (Croom), Jim O’Donovan (St Kierans), John Galvin (Croom), John Cooke (Bruff), Eoin Barry (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Eoghan O’Connor (St Mary’s Sean Finn’s), James O’Meara (Ballysteen), Graham O’Connell (Monaleen).

CLARE - Joe Hayes; Kevin Harnett, Shane McNelis, Lawrence Healy; Martin McMahon, Gordon Kelly, John Hayes; Gary Brennan, Ger Quinlan; Shane McGrath, Enda Coughlan, Alan Clohessy; Michael O’Shea, David Tubridy, Rory Donnelly. Subs: Tony Burke, Shane Brennan, Niall Browne, David Russell, Barry Harnett, Dara Blake, Sean Haugh, Joe Dowling, Michael Foran, Tom Downes, Timmy Ryan.