PROLIFIC 19th century poet Michael Hogan gave himself the name ‘The Bard of Thomond’.
Born in Thomondgate in 1832, his first published works appeared in several publications including the Limerick Leader, with his first volume, Lays and Legends of Thomond, published in 1861.
He then embarked on issuing a series of satirical publications which lampooned prominent figures in the city. They achieved an enormous circulation and caused a great sensation at the time, including his epic verse “The Drunken Thady and the Bishop’s Lady”.
After moving to New York, a fund was raised locally to persuade Hogan to return to Limerick which he did, working for the Corporation as the caretaker of the King’s Island Bank walkway.
He died in 1899 and a life-size statue was erected outside King John’s Castle in 2005.
Subscribe or register today to discover more from DonegalLive.ie
Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.
Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.