07 Dec 2021

SLIDESHOW: Limerick GAA honour victorious county hurling teams of 1996 and 1921

LIMERICK GAA marked the anniversary of two victorious teams during last Sunday's County Hurling Finals in TUS Gaelic Grounds.

The 100th anniversary of the 1921 All-Ireland SHC title - the first when the Liam MacCarthy Cup was presented - and the 25th anniversary of the Munster SHC title were both marked.

Relatives of the 1921 players and players, management and officials from 1996 were all honoured at a pre-match event in The Strand Hotel and afterwards introduced to the crowd on county hurling final day.

Click the < or > arrow above the or 'Next Story' below to go through the gallery

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.