25 May 2022

Limerick Athletics - Weekly News Update

Limerick Athletics - Weekly News Update

Daniel McDermott, Ahane Castleconnell Montpellier,, on his way to winning the Boys U-10 100 metres during the Community Games Track and Field finals at Carlow IT

Cross Country Championships

WET and windy weather slippy underfoot conditions greeted the first Limerick County Novice, Masters and Juvenile Even Age Cross Country Championships at this grade since 2019 hosted by Bilboa AC.

Niall O’Callaghan (West Limerick) led from start to finish to take both Senior and Masters titles in 21:30.
He was followed in 2nd by Karl Lenihan (West Limerick) in 21:37 and by Sean Quirke (Bilboa) in 3rd (21:41). 4th Keith Daly (Limerick AC) 21:45, 5th Mike Sheehy (West Limerick) 22:01, 6th Thomas Shanahan (Limerick AC) 22:31.

West Limerick were first Novice team on 27 pts, with Limerick AC 2nd on 65, Kilmallock took the Bronze medals on 87 pts. 4th Dooneen 100 pts, 5th Bilboa pts 130. West Limerick took both the overall Masters overall and M50 Team titles.

Selected age categories:M55 1st Keith Ryan (Limerick AC), 3rd Neil O’Connell (Limerick AC) .

The women’s event featured a tustle between Caitríona Farrell (An Brú) and Tanya Cox (Dooneen). The Dooneen athlete was the early leader before being overtaken at mid point but regained the lead during the final lap on her way to victory in 16:54.

Caitríona Farrell took Silver for An Brú in 17:03. Clubmate Sharon Conway completed the podium finishing 3rd in 17:40. 4th Sinéad McDermott (17:58) 5th Karen Raine (18:14) , 6th Yvonne Deegan (Country Club AC) 18:29.

Dooneen edged the Novice Team Gold on 16 pts with An Brú 2nd on 19. Dooneen also took the Masters title. Selected age categories: F50 3rd Patricia Wade (An Brú). F55 1st Úna Power (An Brú) Caitríona Farrell was also the overall Masters Champion. It was good to see a wide variety of clubs represented.


U10 Girls
1ST Eve McMahon (Dooneen), 2nd Crea Moore (Limerick AC) 3rd Emily Higgins (Dooneen).
Fantastic runs by Crea Moore, Abigail Hanafin, Tabitha Carroll and Grace Coyne led Limerick ac to team victory by 23pts to Dooneen’s 25.

U10 Boys
Boys u10 saw Killian Coman take the title and he led home a team victory (19ts to Dooneen’s 28) with his fellow team members of Rian Kiely Keoghan, Myles Anderson, Oliver Keogh, Oisin McGuinness, Carter Guinan, Joseph Murphy and Mathew Fogary. Second Thomas O’Donnell (Dooneen) 3rd Oisín Purtill (Dooneen).

U12 Girls
Faye Moore stormed to victory which led to another team title for Limerick AC (15 pts to Dooneen’s 27) with her fellow members of Tiyaa Coughlan, Clodagh Doran, Aideen Kinsella, Emma Murphy, Saoirse Vaughan, Ava Murray and Anita Mc Mahon. 2nd Ciara Lanigan (West Limerick) 3rd Eavan Lyons (West Limerick).

U12 Boys
Saw a brilliant race take place between 2 Limerick AC athletes. Only in the last 10meters was the outcome solved with victory going to Darragh Whelan just in front of 2nd placed John Farrell.

Danny Coyne almost made it a clean sweep by coming 4th but this led to another team title for Limerick AC (by 15 pts to 27 from Dooneen) with Fionn O'Malley, Marcel Flak, Oisin Jennings, Paddy O'Connell, Sean Riordan, David Moloney, Issac Edlin, Jack Field, Darragh McNamara and Ned Rooney. Third Odhran O’Keefe (Dooneen)

U14 Girls
Girls U14 saw Dooneen’s Sophie Meaney take the individual title. She also helped Dooneen edge the team title on 20 pts from Limerick AC on 23. 2nd Sarah O’Halloran (Limerick AC) 3rd Aimee Whelan (Limerick AC).

U14 Boys
Garvan Lyons took 1st place for West Limerick (West Limerick) , 2nd Tadhg Purcell (Limerick AC), 3rd Odhran McGuinness (Limerick AC)

U16 Girls
1st Kate Madigan (Liimerick AC)

U16 Boys
1st Alan McCutcheon (Dooneen) who lead for most of this race. 2nd Jack Downes (Limerick AC), 3rd Ross O’Carroll (Dooneen).

U18 Boys
1st Sam Logan (Limerick AC).

Well done to all athletes, young and old who gave their all. Thanks also to coaches, volunteers, and hosts Bilboa AC for a very well organised event.

London Marathon
Many athletes from Limerick travelled to the English capital.
First was Bilboa’s John Kinsella in a superb time of 2:29:18. Also Dooneen trio Alison Flynn (3:30:02) Mike Griffin (3:19:16) and Shane Ryan (3:07:42).

Limerick County Senior, Intermediate & Juvenile Uneven Age Cross Country Championships, Newcastle West, Sunday 10th October.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.