22 May 2022

Two Limerick sides in basketball's Women's Division 1 South Conference

Two Limerick sides in basketball's Women's Division 1 South Conference

Limerick Celtics and UL Huskies will compete in basketball's Women's Division 1 South Conference for the 2020/21 season

TWO Limerick clubs are set to compete in basketball's six-team Women's Division 1 South Conference for the 2020/21 season.

Local sides Limerick Celtics and UL Huskies join NUIG Mystics, Portlaoise Panthers, Tipperary Knights, and St Paul’s Killarney in the South Conference for next season.

The Women’s Division 1 has followed the Women's Super League’s suit and will have a Conference format.

Both leagues will start on the weekend of October 17 and 18, while the Women’s National League Committee (WNLC) has announced that entrance fees have been reduced by 50% for next season only.

It matches last week’s commitment by the Men’s National League Committee (MNCC) for sides competing in the Men’s Super League and Division 1.

LYIT Donegal, who will be competing at Women’s National League level for the first time, are in the five-team Division 1 North Conference, alongside Belfast Phoenix Rockets, Swords Thunder, Griffith College Templeogue and Ulster University.

Each side will play their Conference opponents on a home and away basis, with one match against each side from the opposing Conference. It means that the North Conference will have a 15-game regular season, while the South Conference will have a 16-game regular season.

The top three teams in the North and South Conference’s will advance to the playoffs, with each Conference winner automatically into the semi-finals.

The second-placed finisher in the North Conference will play the third-placed finisher in the South Conference and vice versa, with the winners advancing to the semi-finals.

Chair of the Women’s National League Committee (WNLC), Breda Dick, said: "We had a meeting with Division One clubs and there was universal backing for the Conference system.

"The WNLC are conscious that clubs are dealing with the challenges that Covid-19 poses and the Conference system will lead to reduced travel costs for clubs. We have also halved the entrance fee for participating sides in both the Super League and Division One."

Participation fees for the 2020/21 season will now be €250 per club.

Last Thursday it was announced that the Women’s Super League would expand to 12 teams.

The North Conference features three Dublin teams - Super League champions DCU Mercy, Pyrobel Killester, Trinity Meteors – along with IT Carlow, Leixlip Amenities Liffey Celtics and Galway side Maree.

The South Conference has Cork trio Ambassador UCC Glanmire, Fr. Mathews and Singleton Supervalu Brunell – along with Kerry’s St. Mary’s Castleisland, Kilkenny’s Marble City Hawks and Waterford Wildcats.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.