Limerick District and Limerick County reach finals at Kennedy Cup

Limerick District and Limerick County reach finals at Kennedy Cup

Limerick District Schoolboy League's Matthew Carroll in action against South Belfast in the Kennedy Cup Bowl at UL

THE Limerick District Schoolboy League and the Limerick County Schoolboy League will compete for silverware at the SFAI New Balance Kennedy Cup at UL on Saturday after winning their respective semi-finals.

Limerick District have qualified for the Kennedy Cup Bowl final against the Cork Schoolboy League at 11.30am on Saturday after easing past the Midlands League 2-1 in their semi-final on Friday.

A brace of goals from Aisling Annacotty's Stephen Young, one in either half, helped the Noel O'Connor-managed Limerick District side defeat the Midlands.

District are now guaranteed a top 10 finish in the Kennedy Cup and should the LDSL win Saturday's Bowl final they will finish ninth overall in the 32-team U14 interleague competition.

The LDSL remain unbeaten in their five games to date at this week's Kennedy Cup with three wins and two draws since their opening game on Tuesday afternoon.

Meanwhile, the Limerick County Schoolboy League are also just one game away from claiming silverware at UL as they face the West Waterford-East Cork League in the Kennedy Cup Trophy final at 10.30am on Saturday at UL. 

Limerick County defeated local rivals Limerick Desmond 1-0 in their Trophy semi-final at UL on Friday morning.

Herbertstown AFCs Jake McNamara-Leamy scored the game's only goal early on to help County earn the bragging rights and a place in Saturday's final.

Limerick County will be guaranteed a 25th place finish overall and the Trophy should they prevail in Saturday's final.

Meanwhile, the Limerick Desmond side defeated by Limerick County earlier on Friday, faced the Roscommon League in the 27th-28 placed play-off on Friday afternoon.


SQUAD: Luke Carmody (Shelbourne), Jamie Young (Aisling Annacotty), Aaron Coleman (Newport), Jai McNamara (Pike Rovers), Darren Nwankwo (Aisling) Annacotty), Stephen Young (Aisling Annacotty), Shane O'Gorman (Pike Rovers), Josh McCarthy (Fairview Rangers), Colm Lenihan (Aisling Annacotty), Matthew Carroll (Aisling Annacotty), Nathan O'Shea (Aisling Annacotty), Rapheal Junior (Summerville), Sam Browne (Shelbourne), Donnacha O'Leary (Aisling Annacotty), Aaron Hough (Aisling Annacotty), Matthew Te Pau (Fairview Rangers), Leon Johnson (Pike Rovers), Rian O'Halloran (Shelbourne FC), Sean O'hAodha (Aisling Annacotty), Jonathon Mullally (Pike Rovers)
MANAGEMENT TEAM: Head of Delegation: Declan Earls; Manager: Noel O'Connor, Coach: Dave Connolly; Goalkeeping Coach: Kevin Fitzpatrick; Coach: Dave Mahedy; Coach: Aidan Ryan.


SQUAD: Sean Carroll, Kodi Cok, Aaron Moffatt, Tristan Stokes, DJ Collins, Luiz Pablo, Paddy Downey, Cathal Kearnes, Hugh Murnane, Michael Ryan, Shane Ryan, Bailey Ryan, Jake McNamara Leamy, Donncha Hogan, Jamie Kirby, David Moloney, Callum Murphy, James O'Sullivan, Tadhg Hourigan, Darragh Enright.

MANAGEMENT TEAM: Head Coach: Eoghan O'Donnell; Assistant Coach: Eddie Murphy; Coach: Timmy Rainsford; Coach: Noel Corbett.


SQUAD: James Ranahan (Kildimo Utd), Ethan Browne (Kildimo Utd), Ben Higgins (Kildimo Utd), Tiernan Meaney (Kildimo Utd), Cian Arthur (AK Utd), Shane O’Sullivan (AK Utd), Michael O’Brien (Newcastle West Town FC), Sean Hartigan (Kildimo Utd), John Fitzgerald (Rathkeale AFC), Jack O’Sullivan (Abbeyfeale Utd), Jamie Moloney (GB Rovers), Sean O’Brien (Kildimo Utd), Robert O’Farrell (Kildimo Utd), Luke Mansfield (Carrig Celtic), Patrick Ivess (AK Utd), Ciaran McMahon (Kildimo Utd), Bobby Smith (Kildimo Utd), Ray Scannell (AK Utd), Killian Keogh (Abbeyfeale Utd), Kevin O’Connell (Askeaton AFC)

MANAGEMENT TEAM: Billy O'Sullivan, Denis Hayes, Kieran McMahon, Gary Manning.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.