Wins for Limerick Desmond and Limerick County at Kennedy Cup

Wins for Limerick Desmond and Limerick County at Kennedy Cup

Cian Arthur wins possession in Limerick Desmond's Kennedy Cup clash with the Sligo Leitrim League at UL this week

THE Limerick Desmond Schoolboy League and the Limerick County Schoolboy League recorded precious wins on the third day of the SFAI Kennedy Cup at UL.

In the Kennedy Cup Trophy quarter-finals on Thursday morning, Limerick Desmond defeated North Tipperary 2-1 in the 52nd fixture of the 96-game tournament to be played at UL this week.

After falling behind, Ethan Browne, of Kildimo Utd, equalised for the Desmond side, while Jamie Moloney, of GB Rovers, popped up with the winner.

Meanwhile, Limerick County also recorded their first win of the week when edging past the North East Counties Schoolboy League 1-0 in their Trophy quarter-final.

Hugh Murnane, of Herbertstown AFC, scored the precious winner for the Limerick side.

The two Limerick sides, Desmond and County, will now face-off in the Trophy semi-finals at UL on tomorrow, Friday, at 10.30am.

The final of the Trophy competition at the Kennedy Cup is due to take place at 10.30am on Saturday.

The Trophy competition is for sides which finished in fourth place in the Kennedy Cup groups.


SQUAD: James Ranahan (Kildimo Utd), Ethan Browne (Kildimo Utd), Ben Higgins (Kildimo Utd), Tiernan Meaney (Kildimo Utd), Cian Arthur (AK Utd), Shane O’Sullivan (AK Utd), Michael O’Brien (Newcastle West Town FC), Sean Hartigan (Kildimo Utd), John Fitzgerald (Rathkeale AFC), Jack O’Sullivan (Abbeyfeale Utd), Jamie Moloney (GB Rovers), Sean O’Brien (Kildimo Utd), Robert O’Farrell (Kildimo Utd), Luke Mansfield (Carrig Celtic), Patrick Ivess (AK Utd), Ciaran McMahon (Kildimo Utd), Bobby Smith (Kildimo Utd), Ray Scannell (AK Utd), Killian Keogh (Abbeyfeale Utd), Kevin O’Connell (Askeaton AFC)

MANAGEMENT TEAM: Billy O'Sullivan, Denis Hayes, Kieran McMahon, Gary Manning.


SQUAD: Sean Carroll, Kodi Cok, Aaron Moffatt, Tristan Stokes, DJ Collins, Luiz Pablo, Paddy Downey, Cathal Kearnes, Hugh Murnane, Michael Ryan, Shane Ryan, Bailey Ryan, Jake McNamara Leamy, Donncha Hogan, Jamie Kirby, David Moloney, Callum Murphy, James O'Sullivan, Tadhg Hourigan, Darragh Enright.

MANAGEMENT TEAM: Head Coach: Eoghan O'Donnell; Assistant Coach: Eddie Murphy; Coach: Timmy Rainsford; Coach: Noel Corbett.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.