Search our Archive


Limerick SFC round one previews

Limerick SFC round one previews

Launch of Irish Wire Limerick SFC

THE Irish Wire Products Limerick SFC kicks-off this weekend with Adare embarked on their quest for a hat-trick of titles.

Although Monaleen and Dromcollogher-Broadford have put titles back-to-back in recent times, it’s 1975 since Treaty Sarsfields completed the last three-in-a-row of Limerick SFC wins.

There is Limerick SFC and IFC for the next two weekends and the club championship will then break until July with Billy Lee’s inter-county team in Munster SFC action on May 11 against Tipperary in Thurles.

Billy Lee used 31 different players across seven games in Division Four of the Allianz Football League and just 19 of these come from Limerick SFC clubs – last year’s county finalists Ballylanders, Ballysteen and Oola three senior clubs without a player on the county senior set-up at present.


A repeat of last year’s semi final, which Adare won 1-5 to 1-4 after earlier beating Monaleen 4-9 to 1-6 in the group stage.

Both have the same management as last year and have contributed five players each to the inter-county set-up through the Winter and Spring.

Both have two ACFL games played but Adare are playing in Division Two and therefore Monaleen should have two greater tests under their belt.


A first Limerick SFC meeting since 2010. Neither reached the knockout stages last year and both have new-look managements.

The Abbeyfeale men have three ACFL games played while the Foynes-Shanagolden side had just one outing and that’s in Division Two.


A repeat of last year’s quarter final, which the south Limerick men won despite having a man sent-off. Two clubs with homegrown backroom teams and neither with any current ‘county men’.


A repeat of the 2015 county final, which Newcastle West won.

They lost in the semi final to Ballylanders last year while Drom-Broadford weren't involved in the business end of the championship for the first time in 18 years.


This tie comes four days after Doon were crowned U-21 hurling champions and certainly Josh Ryan for one will be involved. Dual players Darragh O’Donovan and Richie English won’t be with Oola.

2018 IFC winners Galbally are coached by Oola’s Derek Ryan.


IT’S 2016 since a Limerick SFC meeting of this duo. This is the only SFC tie moved due to the Allianz Hurling League final.

The West Limerick men were quarter finalists last year, while Na Piarsaigh just beat St Patricks in a relegation play-off. 


County SFC Group 1 Round 1
Fr Caseys v St. Senan’s in Mick Neville Park at 8.00pm

County IFC Group 2 Round 1
Glin v Gerald Griffins in Mountcollins at 8.00pm

Saturday March 30
County SFC Group 1 Round 1
Ballylanders v Ballysteen in Kilmallock at 3.00pm
Monaleen v Adare in Ballybrown at 3.00pm

County SFC Group 2 Round 1
Oola v Galbally in Hospital at 3.00pm
Newcastle West v Dromcollogher Braodford in Tournafulla at 5.00pm

County IFC Group 1 Round 1
Athea v Rathkeale in Askeaton at 3.00pm
Bruff v Claughaun in Cappamore at 5.00pm

County IFC Group 2 Round 1
Kildimo-Pallaskenry v Galtee Gaels in Bruff at 3.00pm
Mungret St Pauls v Mountcollins in The Bog Garden at 5.00pm

Tuesday April 2
County IFC Group 1 Round 1
Pallasgreen v St Patricks in Kilbreedy at 8pm

County SFC Group 2 Round 1
Na Piarsaigh v St Kierans in Mick Neville Park at 8.00pm

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.