Search our Archive


All Limerick SHC teams confirm their club hurling management teams for 2019

All 12 Limerick SHC teams confirm their club hurling management teams for 2019

Michael Ryan, Ciaran Carey and Tommy Guilfoyle

ALL bar two of the 12 clubs in the 2019 Limerick SHC have opted for changes to the management teams.

Just Kilmallock and Monaleen are unchanged from last season ahead of the new club hurling campaign.

Across the 12 clubs, they have sought coaching talent from Tipperary (4), Offaly (1), Cork (1), Clare (1) and Galway (1).

In total seven clubs have gone outside the county to bolster their senior hurling management teams.

Just three clubs appear to have stayed local - Adare, Patrickswell and South Liberties.

Monaleen and Garryspillane are also Limerick backed.

Champions Na Piarsaigh signalled their intent with the appointment of former Tipperary manager Michael Ryan.

2018 beaten finalists Doon have a change of coach - Offaly native Aidan Hanrahan replacing Tipperary native Brian Horgan.

2016 champions Patrickswell have returned to Ciaran Carey, who replaces Gary Kirby. Carey previously managed The Well last in 2015 - losing the county final to Na Piarsaigh.

Na Piarsaigh have won five of the last eight county titles, but Patrickswell and Ahane continue to lead the roll of honour on 19 titles each.

Ahane have turned to Limerick's 2013 Munster SHC winning coach Donach O'Donnell as coach alongside manager Davy Givens.

Adare, like neighbours Patrickswell have a homegrown backroom team - Brian Foley replacing Ger O'Loughlin. A five-time Limerick SHC winner as a player, Foley was a selector when Limerick won the 2017 All-Ireland U-21 title.

The manager of that U-21 team was Pat Donnelly and he is getting involved with his native South Liberties, under manager Cronan Garry.

Twelve of the last 14 Limerick SHC titles have been won by a management team with Clare involvement - Alan Cunningham, Sean Stack, Ger O'Loughlin and Tony Considine but Knockainey are the only club to look to The Banner for 2019.

The All Blacks have Tommy Guilfoyle as their coach with Haulie Walsh as manager.

Both Ballybrown and Murroe-Boher have looked to Tipperary.

Evan Loftus remains as Ballybrown manager for a fourth year but has added Darrell Tucker as coach and interestingly former Munster rugby winger Ian Dowling as physio.

Murroe-Boher have Seamus Gleeson of Kildangan as their new manager. He previously worked with South Liberties.

Garryspillane are the only side that don't have a manager. The newly promoted side had TJ Ryan as manager of the Premier IHC winning side of last year but the former Limerick manager is currently involved as coach with Galway side St Thomas for the All-Ireland club SHC.

While they don't have a manager, The Bouncers continue to have Na Piarsaigh's Thomas Downes as coach with Darren Hayes as selector.

Kilmallock and Monaleen are the two sides to hold onto their 2018 managements - The Balbec with former Limerick football manager John Brudair as manager and Mary Immaculate's Fitzgibbon Cup manager Jamie Wall as coach.

Monaleen have former Limerick hurler Damien Reale taking the side into a second season as manager with Liam Reale as coach.


Brian Foley (manager), Eamonn Fitzgerald and Padraig Kearney (selectors).


Davy Givens (manager), Donach O'Donnell (hurling coach).


Evan Loftus (manager), Darrell Tucker (hurling coach), Mick Lynch (fitness coach), Des Kenny (selector), Ian Dowling (physio).


Tom Murphy (manager), Aidan Hanrahan (coach), Joe Shanahan (strength and conditioning coach), Aidan Fitzgerald (selector).


TBC (manager), Thomas Downes (coach), Darren Hayes (selector).


John Brudair (manager), Jamie Wall (coach), Brian Carroll and Kevin O’Mahony (selectors).


Haulie Walsh (manager), Tommy Guilfoyle (coach), Donncha Cleary (selector).


Damien Reale (manager), Liam Reale (trainer), Tony Power (selector).


Seamus Gleeson (manager-coach), Shane Nevin (strength and conditioning coach), Denis Mulcahy, Kevin Tobin, Jonathan Dervan (selectors).


Michael Ryan (manager), Nigel Shaughnessy (coach), PJ Breen (selector).


Ciaran Carey (manager), Natal O'Grady (coach), Damien Gillane, Pa Earls, Declan O'Grady (selectors).


Cronan Garry (manager), Pat Donnelly, Mark Keane, Cathal O’Neill (selectors).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.