Limerick's John Ryan in Rep of Ireland U15 squad for Spanish tournament

Colm Kinsella


Colm Kinsella


Limerick's John Ryan in Rep of Ireland U15 squad for Spanish tournament

Limerick's John Ryan in action for the Rep of Ireland U15 side in their friendly international away to Poland last November

TALENTED Limerick teenager John Ryan has been included in the Republic of Ireland Under-15 soccer squad for an upcoming International Tournament in Spain.

The Republic of Ireland will play Spain, the Netherlands and Hungary at the Pinatar Arena in Spain over the space of five days in late January and early February.

Ryan has already featured for ireland in two friendly internationals against Poland in Police last November.

John Ryan, a third year student at Castletroy College, is a past pupil of Milford NS and Gaelscoil Castletroy.

The talanted teenager initially played his schoolboy soccer locally with Aisling Annacotty.

In 2017, Ryan joined St Kevin’s Boys, of Dublin. At the start of last  year he signed for Shamrock Rovers.

John Ryan, who lives in Castletroy, played GAA with Monaleen and played in both the Mackey and Sarsfield Cup competitions with Limerick City Schools and with Limerick schools Gaelic football team in the Primary Game in 2016.

Despite the majority of the players being in their off-season, Rep of Ireland U15 head coach Jason Donohue has been delighted with the players' physical preparations.

Jason Donohue said: "Communication with the clubs has been key. I've been in conversation with the club coaches, just to get the players on programmes. We won’t be using the players' fitness as an excuse in Spain."

Republic of Ireland Under-15 Squad

Goalkeepers: Aaron Maguire (Tottenham Hotspur), Lee Morris (Dundalk)

Defenders: James Abankwah (St. Patrick's Athletic), Ben Curtis (Shamrock Rovers), Tom Fogarty (Birmingham City), Craig King (St. Patrick's Athletic), Aaron O'Reilly (St. Patrick's Athletic), Darragh Reilly (Sligo Rovers), John Ryan (Shamrock Rovers)

Midfielders: Luke McGlynn (Finn Harps), Jamie Mullins (Bohemians), Glory Nzingo (St. Patrick's Atheltic), John Joe Power (Burton Albion)

Forwards: Edwin Agbajwe (Shamrock Rovers), Conor Campbell (Finn Harps), Evan Ferguson (Bohemians), Cian Kelly (Bohemians), Michael Leddy (Shamrock Rovers), Ciaran O'Sullivan (Mallow United), Ben Quinn (Cherry Orchard)

Republic of Ireland Under-15 Fixtures

January 30: Republic of Ireland v Spain, Pinatar Arena, 13:00 (14:00 local time)

February 1: Republic of Ireland v Netherlands, Pinatar Arena, 16:00 (17:00 local time)

February 3: Republic of Ireland v Hungary, Pinatar Arena, 13:00 (14:00 local time)