Search our Archive


Captain Costelloe points Limerick to opening round camogie league win over Offaly

Captain Costelloe points Limerick to opening round camogie league win over Offaly

Scoring ace Caoimhe Costelloe

LIMERICK opened their 2019 Littlewoods Ireland Camogie League with a fine two point point over Offaly - 1-12 to 0-13.

Declan Nash’s Limerick had to travel to Banagher for the round one Division One tie and came away with the win despite the absence of top scorer Niamh Mulcahy.

Adare’s Caoimhe Costelloe was announced as the new county captain in the past week and she stepped into the shoes of Mulcahy with a personal return of nine points in the free-taking role.

The sides were level, 1-10 to 0-13 entering the final quarter but it was Limerick that found the two late scores to secure the win.

Limerick were fast from the traps and were 0-3 to no score clear before Offaly opening their account.

Limerick were to lead 1-6 to 0-8 at half time and the all-important goal came just after the mid-point of the first half - midfielder Roisin Ambrose breaking forward to find the net in a first senior competitive game for the dual player.

Early in the second half, Offaly went ahead for the first time but Caoimhe Lyons hit back to level at 1-7 to 0-10.

A Costelloe free and a fine Deborah Murphy point then edged Limerick two points ahead again.

Frees from Aisling Brennan brought Offaly back to level as the game entered the final quarter but two late points from captain Costelloe sealed the merited Limerick win.

SCORERS: Limerick: Caoimhe Costelloe 0-9 (7frees, 1 ‘45), Roisin Ambrose 1-0, Caoimhe Lyons 0-2, Deborah Murphy 0-1. Offaly: Mairead Teehan 0-7 (7frees), Aisling Brennan 0-3 (3frees), Jean Brady, Becky Bryant and Arlene Watkins 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Claire Keating; Megan O’Mara, Muireann Creamer, Marion Quaid; Rebecca Delee, Sara Carey, Mairead Ryan; Karen O’Leary, Rosin Ambrose; Deborah Murphy, Camomhe Lyons, Caoimhe Costelloe; Dearbhla Egan, Sophie O’Callaghan, Laura Stack.

OFFALY: Ellie Clendennen; Ann Marie Guinan; Triona McDonald, Sarah Walsh; Grace Teehan, Michaela Morkan, Ciara Brennan; Jean Brady, Aisling Brennan; Orlaigh Kirwan, Grainne Egan, Arlene Watkins; Mairead Teehan, Becky Bryant, Christine Cleary. 

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.