Search our Archive


Limerick confirm 26-strong panel for camogie league

Limerick confirm 27-strong panel for camogie league

Retiring Fiona Hickey lifts the 2014 All-Ireland intermediate cup in Croke Park

LIMERICK have confirmed a 26-strong panel for the Littlewoods Ireland Camogie League.

Absent is 2014 All-Ireland intermediate winning captain Fiona Hickey, who has confirmed her inter-county retirement.

Management have included three dual players; Rebecca Delee, Roisin Ambrose and Loretta Hanley.

Adare’s Caoimhe Costello is 2019 captain with Cappamore’s Muireann Creamer as vice-captain.

The league commences this Sunday with Limerick bidding to reach the knockout stages for a fifth successive season.

Limerick start with a trip to play Offaly in Banagher, at 2pm, and complete the group phase with games against Clare, Dublin and Kilkenny.

Limerick have three absentees due to injury as the league commences – Judith Mulcahy, Lorraine McCarthy and Claire McNamara.

The home games with Clare and Kilkenny could be Gaelic Grounds double-header with Allianz Hurling League games against Tipperary and Cork.

Limerick manager Declan Nash has added former Limerick goalkeeper Sile Moynihan to his backroom team along with selectors Darragh O’Grady and Michelle Casey. Moynihan will be selector and goalkeeping coach.

Darragh Mulcahy is strength and conditioning coach, with John Blackwell as assistant S&C coach.

While Limerick have reached the semi final stage in each of the last four years, the wait for a league final appearance stretches back to 2002. Limerick lost that 2002 final to Galway and also lost two finals in the late 1970s. There were Division Two League title wins in 2013 and 2007 but Limerick is without a Division One league crown.

PANEL: Niamh Mulcahy, Aine Reynolds, Roisin O’Meara, Judith Mulcahy (all Ahane); Roisin Ambrose, Karen O’Leary, Rebecca Delee, Deborah Murphy (all Newcastle West); Lorraine McCarthy, Marion Quaid (both Bruff); Megan O'Meara and Caoimhe Lyons (both Monaleen), Muireann Creamer and Claire Keating (both Cappamore); Caoimhe Costello and Sophie O’Callaghan (both Adare), Loretta Hanley and Laura Stack (both Milford), Dearbhla Egan and Lisa Barrett (both Crecora), Claire McNamara (Doon), Laura O’Neill (Na Piarsaigh), Neamh Curtin (Ballybrown), Sarah Carey (Granagh-Ballingarry), Katie Hennessy (Ballyagran), Mairead Ryan (Clooney-Quin).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.