Search our Archive


WATCH: Limerick pull off dramatic late win over Wexford in Boston semi final

WATCH: Limerick pull off dramatic late win over Wexford in Boston semi final

TWO late goals sealed Limerick's place in the final of the Fenway Classic in Boston this Sunday.

It finished Limerick 53, Wexford 45 in Fenway Park to seal a final spot against Cork.

Limerick trailed 32, 25 at half time.

Tom Morrissey and Graeme Mulcahy had early goals for Limerick but back came Davy Fitzgerald's Wexford to lead 13-6 aftr nine minutes of play.

Cian Lynch and Gearoid Hegarty then had Limerick goals but the men from Leinster were still 16-12 clear.

The lead was out to 24-12 when Limerick had a purple patch with Aaron Gillane, Graeme Mulcahy and Pat Ryan finding the net to lead 25-24.

But the men in maroon and gold finished with a flourish to lead by seven points at the break.

There was a red card for either side early in a second half that was abrasive at times. Pat Ryan also had a Limerick score in those opening exchanges but Wexford continued to lead.

Kyle Hayes, Pat Ryan and Cian Lynch all then found the net and Limerick were ahead; 43-42 with five minutes to play.

Harry Kehoe then looked to have won it for Wexford but Patrickswell duo Aaron Gillane and Diarmaid Byrnes struck injury time goals to book a final spot with Cork.

The Fenway Classic is played under the Super 11s format - 11-a-side with unlimited substitutions.

Under modified rules, there are no points but varying degress of goals - worth three or five points.

Limerick brought a 25-man panel to Boston for the exhibition tournament - the six Na Piarsaigh players missing from the All-Ireland winning panel, along with some injured stars.

Limerick started with Barry Hennessy, Colin Ryan, Seamus Hickey, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey, Cian Lynch, Graeme Mulcahy, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey, Oisin O'Reilly, Seamus Flanagan.

SCORERS: Pat Ryan 15, Graeme Mulcahy, Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane 8 each, Diarmaid Byrnes 5, Tom Morrissey, Gearoid Hegarty and Kyle Hayes 3 each.

PANEL: Nickie Quaid, Seamus Hickey, Richie English, Sean Finn, Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey, Cian Lynch, Seamus Flanagan, Graeme Mulcahy, Tom Morrissey, Pat Ryan, Barry Nash, Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Barry Hennessy, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, Oisin O’Reilly, Aaron Gillane, Barry Murphy, Paddy O’Loughlin, Lorcan Lyons, Willie O’Meara, David Reidy, Colin Ryan.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.