Limerick players impress in Ireland U-20s win over Japan

Lmerick players impress in Ireland U-20s win over Japan

James Mccarthy, of UL-Bohemian, played for Ireland U-20s in their friendly win over Japan this week

SEVERAL Limerick-based players played eye-catching roles as the Ireland U-20s continued their preparations for the World Rugby U-20 Championship with a 43-19 victory over Japan at Wanderers FC.

Ireland’s starting line-up included Daniel Hurley, of Young Munster, on the wing, while James McCarthy, of UL-Bohemian, lined out at full-back.

The exciting Hurley is one of five uncapped players in Noel McNamara’s young Irish squad.

With injuries part and parcel of the international season's Under-20 summer showpiece, Ireland will keep a number of players on stand-by. 

The warm-up fixture with Japan in Dublin on Tuesday saw the likes of Garryowen duo Jack Daly and David McCarthy all get game-time off the replacements bench.

Ireland U-20s open their World Rugby U-20 Championship next Wednesday's against France at Stade Aime-Giral in Perpignan, 8pm Irish time.

IRELAND U-20: James McCarthy (UL Bohemians/Munster); Tom Roche (Lansdowne/Leinster), Tommy O'Brien (UCD/Leinster), Peter Sylvester (UCC/Munster), Dan Hurley (Young Munster/Munster); Conor Dean (St. Mary's College/Leinster), Jonny Stewart (Queen's University/Ulster); James French (UCC/Munster), Dan Sheehan (Dublin University/Leinster), Joe Byrne (Dublin University/Leinster), Matthew Dalton (Malone/Ulster), Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster), Joe Dunleavy (Malone/Ulster), Aaron Hall (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Caelan Doris (St. Mary's College/Leinster) (capt). Replacements used: Dylan Tierney (Corinthians/Connacht), Jordan Duggan (Naas/Leinster), Bryan O'Connor (UCC/Munster), Cormac Daly (Clontarf/Leinster), John Hodnett (UCC/Munster), Jack Daly (Garryowen/Munster), Hugh O'Sullivan (Clontarf/Leinster), Harry Byrne (UCD/Leinster), Angus Kernohan (Ballymena/Ulster), David McCarthy (Garryowen/Munster), James Hume (Banbridge/Ulster), Ronan Foley (UCD/Leinster), Matthew Agnew (Ballymena/Ulster), Patrick Patterson (UCD/Leinster).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.