Search our Archive


Limerick confirm hurling championship panel

Limerick confirm hurling championship panel

Limerick panel confirmed for championship

LIMERICK'S senior hurling management have confirmed a 36-man panel for the 2018 championship.

John Kiely and selectors have reduced the panel by seven ahead of the new-look Munster SHC, which starts on May 20 against Tipperary.

Last Autumn a 43-man panel was revealed for the 2018 season. 31 players have seen action in Limerick's 10 competitive games.

There were 10 Na Piarsaigh players in that original panel but their run to the All Ireland club final meant they didn't feature in any Limerick games so far.

Four of the departing players are from Na Piarsaigh - Ronan Lynch, Alan Dempsey, Tommy Grimes and Conor Boylan. Also omitted are Daragh Fanning, Mikey Mackey and Cian Hedderman.

Limerick are left with a 36-man championship panel, drawn from 19 different clubs.

Ten of the new panel have no senior championship experience. The panel includes 14 of the U-21 panel that won All Ireland honours last September and a further eight players that were part of the 2015 All Ireland U-21 success.

Seven of the 36-man panel will be eligible for the U-21 grade this season - Limerick play Clare in the Munster quarter final on Wednesday May 9 in Ennis.

PANEL: Shane Dowling, David Dempsey, Mike Casey, Peter Casey, William O’Donoghue and Kevin Downes (all Na Piarsaigh); Barry Hennessy, Graeme Mulcahy, Paddy O’Loughlin and Oisin O’Reilly (all Kilmallock); Richie English, Pat Ryan, Darragh O’Donovan and Barry Murphy (all Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes, Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane (all Patrickswell); Dan Morrissey and Tom Morrissey (both Ahane); Paul Browne and Sean Finn (both Bruff); Andrew La Touche Cosgrave and Lorcan Lyons (both Monaleen); Kyle Hayes and Barry O’Connell (both Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen); Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Declan Hannon (Adare), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Nickie Quaid (Effin), Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), William O’Meara (Askeaton).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.