WATCH: Andrew Conway’s stunning try seals Munster's Champions Cup win over Toulon

Conway’s stunning solo try edges Munster to epic Champions Cup win over Toulon

Andrew Conway celebrates scoring his solo try

A SENSATIONAL 75th minute solo try from Andrew Conway helped resilient Munster stun star-studded Toulon 20-19 in an epic Champions Cup quarter-final clash at a sold-out Thomond Park on Easter Saturday.

Toulon, who dominated possession and territory for long stages of a nail-biting game, looked all set to become just the second away side to win a quarter-final at the Limerick venue in 10 attempts when leading 19-13 inside the final six minutes.

However, Conway’s terrific solo try edged Munster back into the contest and out-half Ian Keatley duly added the match-clinching conversion.

The French visitors kicked themselves into an early 6-0 lead but an opportunistic try from Conor Murray and five points from Ian Keatley handed Munster an unlikely 10-6 advantage at the break. 

Munster stayed in front until the 65th minute when Chris Ashton scored under the posts, a lead that was extended when Francois Trinh-Duc kicked a penalty three minutes later. 

However, Munster appearing in a record 17th quarter-final, claimed the spoils late on to set up a semi-final clash with either Clermont Auvergne or Racing 92 in France in three weeks’ time.

MUNSTER: Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Sam Arnold, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland, Peter O'Mahony (capt), Jack O'Donoghue, CJ Stander. Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Gerbrandt Grobler, Robin Copeland, James Hart, JJ Hanrahan, Darren Sweetnam.

TOULON: Chris Ashton; Josua Tuisova, Mathieu Bastareaud (capt), Ma'a Nonu, Semi Radradra; Anthony Belleau, Eric Escande; Florian Fresia, Guilhem Guirado, Marcel van der Merwe, Juandre Kruger, Dave Attwood, Raphael Lakafia, Facundo Isa, Duane Vermeulen. Replacements: Anthony Etrillard, Xavier Chiocci, Emerick Setiano, Romain Taofifenua, Malakai Fekitoa, Alby Mathewson, Francois Trinh-Duc, Samu Manoa.

REFEREE: Nigel Owens (Wales)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.