Munster suffer frustrating Pro14 defeat away to Edinburgh

Munster suffer frustrating Pro14 defeat away to Edinburgh

Munster centre Sam Arnold looks to break through the Edinburgh defence in their Pro14 fixture with Edinburgh at Murrayfield

MUNSTER suffered a frustrating 12-6 defeat to Edinburgh in their re-arranged Guinness PRO14 fixture with Edinburgh at Murrayfield on Friday night.

Johann van Graan’s side had to make-do with taking a losing bonus point from the contest which had to be rescheduled following earlier this month due to snow.

Two penalty goals, one in either half from out-half JJ Hanrahan, was Munster’s only reward on the scoreboard on their trip to the Scottish capital.

The result leaves Munster seven points ahead of the third-placed Toyota Cheetahs in Conference A of the Guinness Pro14.

Hooker Mike Sherry made his first PRO14 start since April 2016 after recovering from a long-term back injury, with fellow Ireland international Tommy O'Donnell featuring off the bench in the second half for the first time since sustaining a shoulder injury on New Year's Day.

Edinburgh had led 5-3 at half-time. JJ Hanrahan gave Munster the lead with a 19th minute penalty, only for Edinburgh hit back with a Duhan van der Merwe try four minutes before the break.

Bill Johnston, who came in at out-half, was introduced as a 43rd minute replacement for Simon Zebo, with JJ Hanrahan moving to full-back.

Hanrahan kicked Munster in front with his second penalty goal of the evening on 49 minutes,. following excellent work at the breakdown by Conor Oliver.

However, Munster’s lead was short-lived as a period of enormous pressure on the visitors defence told as van der Merwe crossed in the left corner with the conversion from Jaco van der Walt making it 12-6.

The home side managed to hold until their six-point advantage until full-time.

SCORERS: Edinburgh: Duhan van der Merwe two tries, Jaco van der Walt con. Munster: JJ Hanrahan two pens.

EDINBURGH: Dougie Fife; Jason Harries, Mark Bennett, Chris Dean, Duhan van der Merwe; Jaco van der Walt, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne; Jordan Lay, Neil Cochrane, Murray McCallum, Fraser McKenzie (capt), Ben Toolis, Magnus Bradbury, John Hardie, Bill Mata. Replacements: Cameron Fenton, Rory Sutherland, Simon Berghan, Lewis Carmichael, Cornell du Preez, Nathan Fowles, Duncan Weir, Junior Rasolea.

MUNSTER: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Sam Arnold, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton; JJ Hanrahan, James Hart; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (capt), Jack O'Donoghue, Conor Oliver, Robin Copeland. Replacements: Kevin O'Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Darren O'Shea, Tommy O'Donnell, Jack Stafford, Bill Johnston, Dan Goggin

REFEREE: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.