Search our Archive


Fixtures for opening rounds of Limerick club football championships in March

Fixtures for opening rounds of Limerick club football championships in March

Adare's Shane Doherty lifts the 2017 Limerick SFC title

LIMERICK GAA officials have confirmed the fixtures for the opening two rounds of the county SFC and IFC.

Both football championships commence on the final weekend of this month; March 29 to April 1.

Round two takes place on April 6-8 and the championships then breaks until July 19-22.

Senior champions Adare begin their title defence with a clash against Dromcollogher-Broadford in a repeat of last year’s semi final in the Irish Wire Products sponsored competition.

Dual club Na Piarsaigh are set to play city rivals Monaleen in their round one game on Thursday March 29 – just 12 days after their All Ireland club SHC final in Croke Park. Padraic Kennedy, Alan Dempsey, William O’Donoghue, David Dempsey and Peter Casey will start in the hurling final and have all played football in recent years with the Caherdavin side.

All games in round one and two have 6.30 starts.

Limerick SFC round one

Thursday March 29

Dromcollogher-Broadford v Adare in Knockaderry

Monaleen v Na Piarsaigh in Claughaun

Friday March 30

Ballylanders v St Senans in Kilmallock

Oola v Fr Caseys in Bruff

Newcastle West v St Patricks in Askeaton

Sunday April 1

St Kierans v Ballysteen in The Bog Garden


Limerick SFC round two

Friday April 6

Fr Caseys v Newcastle West in Tournafulla

Saturday April 7

Adare v Ballylanders in Bruff

Na Piarsaigh v Dromcollogher-Broadford in Askeaton

Sunday April 8

St Senans v Monaleen in Adare

Ballysteen v Oola in Mungret

St Patricks v St Kierans in Clarina


Limerick IFC round one

Thursday March 29

Glin v Bruff in Croagh           

Friday March 30

Mungret v Claughaun in Caherdavin

Mountcollins v Gerald Griffins in Athea                  

Sunday April 1

Athea v Pallasgreen in Ballingarry

Castlemahon v Galbally in Bruff

Galtee Gaels v Rathkeale in Kilmallock     


Limerick IFC round two

Friday April 6

Claughaun v Athea in Askeaton

Saturday April 7

Bruff v Mungret in Croom

Gerald Griffins v Castlemahon in Newcastle West

Sunday April 8       

Pallasgreen v Glin in Ballingarry

Rathkeale v Mountcollins in Newcastle West

Galbally v Galtee Gaels in Kilfinane

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.