Two Limerick teenagers help Rep of Ireland U-15 girls down England

Newcastle West teenager helps Rep of Ireland U-15 girls down England

The Republic of Ireland U-15 girls squad which defeated England 3-0

TWO Limerick teenagers made handsome contributions as the Republic of Ireland U-15 schoolgirls team retained the John Read Trophy following a comprehensive victory over hosts England in Stafford Town FC on Saturday.

The talented Aoibheann Clancy, from Kilbehenny, started in midfield for the Republic of Ireland side which defeated their English hosts 3-0. Clancy is a student at Presentation Secondary School, Thurles.

The highly rated Leah Hayes Coen, of Scoil Mhuire agus Íde, Newcastle West, was introduced as a second half substitute in the Republic of Ireland victory.

It’s two wins on the bounce for Richard Berkeley’s side as they overcame Northern Ireland 2-1 last month.

Hayes Coen was one of seven Limerick-based players included in the Munster squad for the FAI Schools U15 Girls’ Interprovincial Tournament as the AUL Complex, Clonshaugh, Dublin last November.

Newcastle West AFC player Hayes Coen was also part of the Limerick Desmond U-14 squad which competed in the Gaynor Cup at UL last summer.

The Irish were impressive from the outset in Saturday’s clash with England and produced several clear cut chances early on but it wasn’t until the half hour mark that Presentation SS, Kilkenny scholar Ellen Molloy headed home to break the deadlock.

Molloy added a second on the hour mark to give the visitors some breathing space in a physically demanding encounter.

The icing on the cake came two minutes from time when substitute Erin McLaughlin of Carndonagh CS came off the bench to convert the Republic of Ireland’s third of the day.

The result bodes well for the side’s Bob Docherty Cup campaign later this month.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND | Rugile AskaInyte (St. Mary’s Holy Faith Convent, Glasnevin), Abbie Clarke (Muckross Park College, Donnybrook), Shauna Brennan (Claregalway College), Therese Kinnevey (St. Paul’s Secondary School, Ougherard), Jessie Stapleton (Palmerstown Community School), Aoibheann Clancy (Presentation Secondary School, Thurles), Aoife Horgan (St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Ballybunion), Della Doherty CAPTAIN (Coláiste Iosagain, Portarlington), Anna Fahey (St. Paul’s Secondary School, Ougherard), Muireann Devaney (St. Clare’s Comprehensive School, Manorhamilton), Ellen Molloy (Presentation Secondary School, Kilkenny). Subs used: | Erin McLaughlin (Carndonagh Community School) for Fahey (45), Emma O’Donoghue (Coláiste Muire, Ennis) for Kinnevey (45), Kate Slevin (Claregalway College) for Doherty (55), Kate O’Dowd (St. Nathy’s College, Ballaghaderreen) for Horgan (55), Leah Hayes Coen (Scoil Mhuire agus Íde, Newcastle West) for Askalnyte (64), Kerry Brown (Moville Community College) for Devaney (64), Emer O’Neill (St. Louis Community School, Kiltimagh) for Molloy (64).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.