Search our Archive


Champions Mary I and LIT both lose out in Fitzgibbon Cup

Champions Mary I and LIT both lose out in Fitzgibbon Cup

Limerick's Cian Lynch who played for Mary I in their loss to DCU

Double champions Mary I went crashing out of the 2018 Fitzgibbon Cup last night following a 2-12 to 0-20 loss to DCU in the quarter final of the famous competition. 

In a game which was tight from the off, both sides were level on eight occasions. However DCU inflicted the killer blows as points from Killian Doyle and Conor Burke saw the capital side over the line against the champions. 

Meanwhile, Davy Fitzgerald's LIT also lost out in the quarter final stage to DJ Carey's Carlow IT. A strong finish from the Carlow side saw them run out 1-19 to 0-18 winners. With LIT leading 0-11 to 1-7 at half time, things were looking good for the Moylish side against last season's finalists. 

However, despite impressive performances from Limerick's Diarmuid Byrnes and Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, points from Cathal Dunbar, Enda Rowland and Charles Dwyer saw Carlow into the last four once more. 

An interesting point for Limerick was that Aaron Gillane did not line out for Mary I. The Patrickswell man will hopefully be fit for the remaining Allianz Hurling league ties this season. 

Scorers for DCU: Donal Burke 0-8 (0-6f), Joe O’Connor, Killian Doyle 0-3 each, Rian McBride 0-2, Conor Delaney, Darren Mullen, Patrick Curran, Conor Burke 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mary Immmaculate: Michéal O’Loughlin 1-5 (0-5f), Eoghan Cahill 1-0 (1-0 pen), Cian Lynch, Gary Cooney 0-2 each, Brian Corry, Luke Meade, Colm Stapleton 0-1 each.

DCU: Oisin Foley (Crossabeg-Ballymurn, Wexford), Darragh Brennan (Carrickschok, Kilkenny), Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille, Dublin), Conor McSweeney (South Liberties, Limerick), Aaron Maddock (St Martin’s, Wexford), Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own, Kilkenny), Paudie Foley (Crossabeg-Ballymurn, Wexford), Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks, Kilkenny), Daire Grey (Whitehall Colmcille, Dublin), Rian McBride (St Vincent’s, Dublin), Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin), Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s, Wexford), John Donnelly (Thomastown, Kilkenny), Patrick Curran (Dungarvan, Waterford), Donal Burke (Na Fianna, Dublin)

Mary Immaculate College: Eoghan Cahill (Birr, Offaly), Chris McCullagh (Moycarkey-Borris, Tipperary), Darragh Peters (Kilruane McDonaghs, Tipperary), Darren Browne (Kanturk, Cork), Shane Taylor (Broadford, Clare), Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum, Cork), David Prendergast (Lismore, Waterford), James Mackey (Éire Óg Nenagh, Tipperary), Pa Ryan  (Newport Gaels, Tipperary), Colin Guilfoyle (Newmarket-on-Fergus, Clare), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Limerick), Luke Meade (Newcestown, Cork), Gary Cooney (O’Callaghan’s Mills, Clare), Micheal O’Loughlin (Clonlara, Clare), Brian Corry (Sixmilebridge, Clare)

Scorers for IT Carlow: Mark Kavanagh 0-5 (0-4f), Sean Downey 1-1, Cathal Dunbar 0-3 (0-1 sl), Richie Leahy 0-3, Jack Fagan 0-3, Charles Dwyer 0-2, Enda Rowland 0-1 (0-1f), Mark Russell 0-1,

Scorers for Limerick IT: David Reidy 0-4 (0-4f), Peter Duggan 0-4, Diarmaid Byrnes 0-3 (0-2f), Brendan O’Connor 0-2, Darren O’Connell 0-2, Willie Connors 0-1, Oisin Kelly 0-1, Jack Quaid 0-1.

IT Carlow : Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix, Laois), Shane Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien, Wexford), Kevin Hannafin (St Brendan’s, Kerry), Ross Brown (Colligan, Waterford), Michael Redmond (Rathnure, Wexford), James Doyle (St Mullins, Carlow), Michael Harney (Bunmahon, Waterford), Colin Dunford (Colligan, Waterford), Richard Leahy (Rower Inistioge, Kilkenny), Sean Downey (Ballinakill, Laois), Martin Kavanagh (St Mullins, Carlow), Charles Dwyer (Ballinakill, Laois), Mark Russell (Lattin Cullen, Tipperary), Jack Fagan (De La Salle, Waterford), Cathal Dunbar (Realt na Mara Ballygarrett, Wexford)

Limerick IT: Bryan O’Loughlin (Kilmaley, Clare) Jack Quaid (Effin, Limerick), Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart, Waterford), James Quigley (Kiladangan, Tipperary), Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick), Sean Ryan (Sean Treacy’s, Tipperary), Darren Moran (Kiladangan, Tipperary),  David Reidy (Éire Óg, Clare), Brendan O’Connor (Adare, Limerick), Darren O’Connell (Kildimo Pallaskenry, Limerick), Willie Connors (Kiladangan, Tipperary), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen, Limerick), Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona, Clare), Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin, Clare), Oisin Kelly (Belmont, Offaly)

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.