Ronan O'Mahony makes first start for nine months in Munster A's clash with Ospreys

Ronan O'Mahony makes first start in nine months in Munster A's clash with Ospreys

Ronan O'Mahony starts at full-back for Munster A in Friday night's British & Irish Cup clash with Ospreys Premiership Select at Musgrave Park, 7.45pm

RONAN O’Mahony makes his first start in nine months when lining out for the Munster A side in Friday night’s British and Irish clash with Ospreys Premiership Select at Musgrave Park, 7.45pm.

O'Mahony had scored ten tries in 22 games for the Munster senior side last season before breaking his leg at Benetton Rugby in the Guinness Pro14 in late April.

Victory for Peter Malone’s A side will see current holders Munster secure a place in the quarter-finals of the competition.

Munster A show just one change to the side that won 17-12 in Nottingham last weekend as O’Mahony comes in at full-back for his first start since returning from a fractured fibula injury.

Fellow long-term injury absentees Dave O’Callaghan and Dan Goggin are both named among the replacements and are in line for a return to action.

Calvin Nash, who signed a development contract last week, and Stephen Fitzgerald line up on the wings.

Captain Dave Johnston moves from full-back to start alongside Shane Daly in the centres with the half-back pairing of James Hart and Bill Johnston unchanged.

There are no changes in the pack as Mike Sherry starts at hooker with Jeremy Loughman and Brian Scott on either side of the front row.

Fineen Wycherley, who also signed a development contract last week, is partnered by Gerbrandt Grobler in the second row.

The back row trio of Sean O’Connor, Conor Oliver and Gavin Coombes maintain their places.

Duncan Casey and Ciaran Parker provide the front row cover as Sean McCarthy and O’Callaghan provide further forward cover.

John Poland, Conor Fitzgerald and Goggin complete the replacements.

MUNSTER A: Ronan O’Mahony; Calvin Nash, Shane Daly, Dave Johnston (Capt), Stephen Fitzgerald; Bill Johnston, James Hart; Jeremy Loughman, Mike Sherry, Brian Scott; Fineen Wycherley, Gerbrandt Grobler; Sean O’Connor, Conor Oliver, Gavin Coombes. Replacements: Duncan Casey, Ciaran Parker, Sean McCarthy, Dave O’Callaghan, John Poland, Conor Fitzgerald, Dan Goggin.


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.