Extra nights of Limerick Greyhound racing this Christmas

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell



Extra nights of Limerick Greyhound racing this Christmas

Action from Limerick Greyhound stadium

LIMERICK Greyhound Stadium has added two extra nights of racing over the Christmas period with December 14 and 21 hosting Thursday racing.

Last weekend was the regular Friday and Saturday cards. Friday opened with a sprint and victory for Swanky Ena for John Prenderville of Tarbert. The winning time was 19.13. Nine lengths back in second was Black Lizzie for Raymond Dowling of Gouldavoher.

Another sprint winner was Tyrap Cayman for Bruree’s David Carroll. The winning time was 19.46. Two lengths back in second was Tally Ho Halo for the Rathkeale based Walls of Tally Ho syndicate.

Knocklong’s Mairead McCarthy won with Ryves Express in a 350. The winning time was 19.16. Two and a half lengths back in second was Magicians Star for the Herbert and Nash syndicate.

Abbeyfeale’s Con O’Connor won with Selena in a novice 525. The winner’s time was 29.32. Beaten into second was Beaming Control for Pauline Ryan of Knocklong.

There was an A7 525 win for Joseph Collins and Parteen’s Shanakyle syndicate with Blue Field Aimee. The winning time was 29.80. A length back in second was Marmont for Kilmallock’s Eugene Corkery.

Another A7 was won in 29.50 by Ruling Holly for Pallasgreen’s William O’Neill. The winner was three and a half lengths clear of Beaming Amara for Pauline Ryan of Knocklong.

Croom’s John Murphy won with Cherrygrove Una in an A4 525. The winner had two lengths to spare on the line in 29.56. Back in second was the Denis O’Malley trained Farrihy Flyer for the Ned Kellys Gang syndicate of Dromcollogher.

Another Limerick winner was Carrigmore Young for Doon’s Patrick and Aoife Coffey. The D2 750 was won in 43.08. 

Askeaton’s John O’Shaughnessy won with Bettyville Lark in an A3 525 in 28.90.

On Saturday the card opened with a quick double for Cappawhite’s John O’Neill. Toems Daddy won and A10 525 and in the second race Toems Teddy won an A8 525. 

Race three was a sprint and was won in 19.48 and by four lengths by Tally Ho Captain.

Oola’s Susan Hayes won an A5 525 with Orlando Lucy. In 29.13 the winner was six lengths clear. Second was Ballygibba Fly for Billy Guiney of Kilmallock.

Clarina’s Richard Quinn and Michael O’Connell had Rahina Wilton as a winner of an A6 525. The winner was six lengths clear on the line in 28.88.

An A5 525 went to Honeypound Roger in 29.39 for Croom’s Michael Carmody.

There was a sprint win for Bruff’s Cormac Davern with Mohane Giselle. In 19.11 the winner had over two lengths to spare over Cherrygrove Jean for Croom’s John Murphy.

Another sprint winner was Tally Ho Luckie for Rathkeale’s Walls of Tally Ho syndicate. The winning time was 18.99 with Orlando Charlie beaten into second for Oola’s Susan Hayes.

Hospital’s Dan Murphy won with Hawkeye Shane. The winning time in the A4 525 was 28.98. A length back in second was Clounanna Tiger for Patrickswell’s Tony Foley.

Kilmeedy’s Timothy Gilbourne won with Gulleen Jack in an A3 525. In 29.05 the winner got up on the line to beat Rallying Moon for Meelick’s Dan Flynn and trainer Denis O’Malley.

O’Malley then teamed up with Noel Nash and Gerry McManus to win an A2 525 with Clearly Written. The winner’s time was 28.62. Three and a half lengths back in second was Mohane Zara for Bruff’s Cormac Davern.

The final race was an A1 525 and was won in 28.64 by Lapari Supreme for Askeaton’s MJ Kehoe and Padraic Rogers. Four lengths back in second was Honeypound Gizmo for Croom’s Michael Carmody.