Limerick stars named on Irish Women's Sevens side for Dubai tournament

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


Limerick stars named on Irish Women's Sevens side for Dubai tournament

Ireland's Louise Galvin who will travel to Dubai for the International sevens series

The Ireland Women's 7s side to compete at the opening leg of the World Rugby Women's Sevens World Series in Dubai has been named by Director of Rugby 7s Anthony Eddy.

The side will be captained by Lucy Mulhall and features three local players  Aoife Doyle, Louise Galvin and Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird who is one of two uncapped players alongside Eve Higgins.

Higgins has come through the Ireland 7s pathway, representing Ireland at schools and U18s level while Nic a Bhaird, is a regular on the wing for Munster and has also been a part of the wider Ireland XV squad over the past number of seasons.

Aoife Doyle returns to the squad having missed out on a number of tournaments last season through injury.

Claire Boles and Stacey Flood, who spent their summer in Australia, playing in the Aon University 7s tournament with Bond University are named, as are four players who were involved in the Women's Rugby World Cup in Ireland this year, Ashleigh Baxter, Katie Fitzhenry, Louise Galvin and Hannah Tyrrell.

Audrey O'Flynn and Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe, Ireland's top try scorer last season (21) complete the 12-woman squad.

Ireland are drawn with Canada, Fiji and Spain in Pool C of the tournament, with Fiji first up.

Ahead of the squad departing for Dubai, Anthony Eddy said;

"I think the squad are really excited about the World Series this year and having shown some good improvement the last couple of seasons we will be looking to build on that throughout the series.

We're drawn with Canada, Fiji and Spain, and we know what those sides will bring to each game. Fiji are first up, so we'll be focusing on that and looking to get the tournament off to a positive start.

The Dubai Sevens is always a great event to start off the World Rugby World Series - there's always a festival atmosphere and there's usually a good turnout of Irish supporters over the weekend, so I know the players are looking forward to getting over there and getting the season underway.”

Ireland will debut the first ever IRFU Sevens specific jersey at the Dubai 7s. Designed in conjunction with Canterbury of New Zealand and on sale exclusively from Ireland 7s sponsors Intersport Elverys. You can purchase the home and alternate Ireland 7s jerseys here:

For more information on the Dubai 7s, or to buy tickets, visit:

Ireland Women's 7s – Dubai 7s, Sevens Stadium, Dubai – 30 November / 1 December 2017
Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke RFC /Ulster)
Claire Boles (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)
Aoife Doyle (Shannon RFC & Railway Union RFC/Munster)
Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)*
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC)
Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union RFC/Munster)
Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)*
Audrey O'Flynn (Ireland Sevens)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

*Denotes uncapped at this level

Ireland Women's 7s – Dubai 7s Fixtures – Pool C
Thursday 30th November 2017
Fiji v Ireland – 12:00pm (local time)/4:00pm (Irish time)
Canada v Ireland – 3:18pm (local time)/7:18pm (Irish time)
Ireland v Spain – 5:53pm (local time)/9:53pm (Irish time)

Friday 1st December 2017

For more info on the HSBC Women's Sevens Series, visit: