'Magnificent seven' for Limerick in Munster squad at FAI Schools U15 Girls interpro'

'Magnificent seven' for Limerick in Munster squad at FAI Schools U15 Girls interpro'

Seven Limerick-based players will represent Munster at the FAI Schools U15 Girls’ Interprovincial Tournament as the AUL Complex, Clonshaugh from this Friday

SEVEN Limerick-based players have been included in the Munster squad for the FAI Schools U15 Girls’ Interprovincial Tournament as the AUL Complex, Clonshaugh, Dublin starting this Friday.

The Munster squad for the prestigious tournament includes Leah Hayes Coen, of Scoil Mhuire & ide, Newcastle West, Emma Barrett, of Scoil Pol, Kilfinane, Nicole McNamara, Ciara Houlihan and Anna Mullane, all Colaiste na Trocaire, Rathkeale, Eve O’Sullivan, of Salesian Secondary College, Pallaskenry and Caoimhe Riordan, of Colaiste Ide & Iosef, Abbeyfeale. 

Munster kick off their campaign with a fixture against holders Leinster at 4.30pm at the AUL Complex this Friday. The draw for Saturday and Sunday’s matches will be made following the games on Friday evening.

The three day event will see a series of six matches played with Provinces awarded two points for a win and one point for a draw. The format leaves for an exciting finale in the Sunday morning outings.

The Interprovincial series will be the first step in the process of selecting the FAI Schools International Development squad of 18 players who will compete in the Bob Docherty Cup.

The 2017/18 campaign will see the Republic of Ireland Schools select travel to Belfast for this season’s Home Nations event. The International series will take place during the Easter Break from Saturday, March 24 to Monday, March 26.

Prior to that the squad will take on England in the annual John Read Cup which will take place on Saturday, March 10 at Stafford Town FC.

Leinster won the competitive for a fifth successive time last year. 

Following the three day series in Dublin on Sunday, an extended panel will be invited back for trial on Saturday, November 25 in FAI headquarters, Abbotstown.

MUNSTER: Leah Hayes Coen (Scoil Mhuire agus Ide, Newcastle West), Emma Barrett (Scoil Pól, Kilfinane), Robin Carey(Coláiste Dán Iascaigh, Cahir), Ellen Casey & Emma O’Donohue (Coláiste Muire, Ennis),  Aoibheann Clancy (Presentation Secondary School Thurles), Aoife Horgan (St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Ballybunion), Aisling Kelly (Presentation Secondary School, Listowel), Kelly Leahy (Coláiste an Chroi Naofa, Cork), Emer McCarthy (Cashel Community School), Nicole McNamara, Ciara Houlihan & Anna Mullane (Coláiste na Trócaire, Rathkeale), Mia O’Connell (Coláiste Muire, Cobh) Naomi O’Shaughnessy (Ennis Community College), Eve O’Sullivan (Salesian Secondary College, Pallaskenry), Caoimhe Riordan (Coláiste Íde agus Iosef, Abbeyfeale)

MANAGEMENT: Richard Grimes & Andrew Russell (St. Caimin’s Community School, Shannon), Barry Ryan (Presentation Secondary School, Thurles) Carys Johnson (Glanmire Community College), Stephen Quinn (Coach)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.